Is it really worth to buy unlock iphone 4 for T-mobile carrier?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by macdaddy612, Aug 13, 2010.

  1. macdaddy612 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    #1
    I live in small town that don't have ATT signals but It only have T-mobile or Verizon signals. I have test the EDGE internet on 3gs and it really fast like 3g network. I am really going to buy brand new iphone 4 unlock from a friend for good price like $550. What do you think?:confused:
     
  2. barkomatic macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    Manhattan
    #2
    I dunno, I like my iPhone 4 but I don't think Id be happy with only edge speeds on T-mobile. For that price I'd go with a Droid X on Verizon's 3G and an iPod.
     
  3. nlkccom macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #3
    EDGE speed is really fast like 3G? Sure about that??? :confused:
     
  4. macdaddy612 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    #4
    Yes I am sure about that since my area have 5 bars and my android phone internet is fast. Like I said I have test it so many times with iphone 3gs it work well without slowing.
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    Trust me, edge is not and never will be really fast like a 3G network.
    Maybe you were on wifi.
     
  6. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #6
    Edge speeds are edge speeds
    3G speeds are 3G speeds

    Believe me, regardless of how strong a carrier signal your phone shows, they are no where near the same speed.

    According to AT&T commercials, they cover 97% of US, you must be in the other 3% (of course, the ads would never lie :rolleyes:)
     
  7. Mademan12321 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    #7
    [​IMG]
     
  8. macdaddy612 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    #8
    What does that suppose to mean? :confused:
     
  9. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #9
    Perhaps 3G speeds are so poor in the OP's area that he doesn't know what they are supposed to be like.
     
  10. macdaddy612 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    #10

    What about HSPA?
     
  11. Mademan12321 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
  12. macdaddy612 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    #12
  13. mrzeve macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    #13
    Right now, the FaceTime doesn't work on T-Mobile. So no.
     
  14. macdaddy612 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    #14
    The facetime only uses wifi right?
     
  15. rjohnstone macrumors 68040

    rjohnstone

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    PHX, AZ.
    #15
    T-Mobile doesn't differentiate between the two.
    Data access is data access.
    It's moot anyway since you cannot use any iPhone on T-Mobile's 3G network.
     
  16. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #16
    That is correct, so it seems like it would work just fine no matter what carrier you use.
     
  17. baller1308 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #17
    Well, if Edge speeds are like 3G speeds, then 3G speeds will be like wifi for you:p.
     
  18. macdaddy612 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    #18
    T-mobile upgrade to 4g network this summer, and I hope iphone comes to this carrier.
     
  19. macdaddy612 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    #19
    I talk to customer service for T-mobile they said I need to use 3g network inorder to get fast internet speed for iphone 4 unlock, and they offer me micro sim for iphone 4 without going through cutting the sim.
     
  20. outphase macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    #20
    Not true. There's some second layer of connection involved that TMo doesn't understand. My personal guess is that there's a hidden SMS that's sent using characters that are incompatible on the TMo network. Try sending emoji or foreign characters to a person on TMo, and they may not receive the message.
     
  21. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #21
    That may be true, but you can't use 3G network with an iPhone as the iPhone doesn't read the 3G T-Mobile frequency in the US.

    Despite what T-mobile tells you, you cannot bypass this hardware issue.
     
  22. mutantblack macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #22
    yup. some cellphone vendor do that. you will never get 3g speed on tmobile on current hardware and no edge is not near as fast as 3g. I've seen some people using tmobile on iphone 4 and their internet is just so so. Well at least you pay cheaper for internet.
     
  23. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #23
    Interesting. So when you use FaceTime, does it use up your SMS allotment (if you don't have unlimited)?
     
  24. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #24
    Not on AT&T, not sure about T-Mobile (if anyone has actually gotten FaceTime to run using T-Mobile)
     
  25. macdaddy612 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    #25
    What are you saying? It's not worth buying iphone 4 unlock ?
     

Share This Page