Is it true new MBP's only support Win 7 not Vista?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Wicked1, Apr 25, 2011.

  1. Wicked1 macrumors 68040

    Wicked1

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    I would hate to have to buy more crappy Windows software when I already own Vista 32 and 64 bit and use 32 bit on my uMB
     
  2. Fubar1977, Apr 25, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 25, 2011

    Fubar1977 macrumors 6502a

    Fubar1977

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Location:
    North Yorkshire, UK
  3. Wicked1, Apr 25, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 25, 2011

    Wicked1 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Wicked1

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #3
    The reason I ask is since I have a ton of games that were purchased for Windows, it doesn't pay for me to buy all of them now for Mac OS, especially that COD4 is still $50 from Apple, and I already own it.

    I would rather not get a new one then to buy Windows 7, I would rather just keep using Vista 32 bit as I already own a legal copy. If not, I might have to rethink getting a new MBP and go with a Refurb again.

    What does the number ranking mean anyway that I am a 65816?
     
  4. DarwinOSX macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    #4
    The latest version of Boot Camp only supports Win 7. The hardware can do either. Just use an older version of Boot Camp. Oh and Vista sucks..but you knew that.
     
  5. iMacDragon macrumors 65816

    iMacDragon

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    only problem there is the older boot camp will not have drivers for all the hardware in new MBP's.
     
  6. johnnyturbouk macrumors 68000

    johnnyturbouk

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Location:
    on the yellow [oled] brick road to tech nirvana.
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (Johnny iphone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8G4 Safari/6533.18.5)

    When you launch bootcamp, after selecting where to install and format the bootcamp to dos fat32; then bootcamp will ask to select drive or empty disk to burn windows drivers; I used a 16gb USB key-pen- then it'll ask for you to insert windows install disk - at this point click install later, go to startup disk and select bootcamp, insert win vista cd and it should boot-up into bootcamp and give u the option to install vista 32- I have not tried this but have heard of anecdotes of this method being successful
     
  7. Ommid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #8
    I wouldnt let vista on my laptop!
     
  8. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #9
    Wrong question. The question should be:
    "Is it true that only Win 7 SP1 supports the new SB MBP's?"

    Sandy Bridge optimized Windows programs work only under Windows 7 SP1, because they require the operating system support for their thread management (context switches) and other functions.

    It is possible that developers include code for non-SB-platforms in their programs, but this means your applications run slower if you do not use at least Windows 7 SP1.
     
  9. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #10
    Yes. No more XP or vista support as of this generation MBP's.
     
  10. Resqu2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    #11
    Vista was one of the many, many reasons I left the PC computer line, I did put Win 7 on my new MBP and it seems more stable but I only run 1 program in it. I'd try to get Win 7 and be done with It but that's just me
     

Share This Page