Is it true that Apple replacement iPhones are Verizon unlocked?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by SPNarwhal, Oct 9, 2014.

  1. SPNarwhal macrumors 65816

    SPNarwhal

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Location:
    illinois
    #1
    I got my iPhone 6+ and there was something wrong with the screen, so I went to the Apple Store and got a replacement for it.

    I heard someone on here say before that all replacement units are just CDMA unlocked models. (mine was an AT&T model)

    Not sure if that's true. How can I check?
    Model is A1522, which comes up as a Verizon model, but the box for my original one says that was an A1522 as well and was directly from AT&T.
     
  2. Tyler23, Oct 9, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2014

    Tyler23 macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #2
    Edit: Don't listen to me, I live under a rock!
     
  3. Shadowbech macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    #3
    T-mobile, verizon and AT&T are all A1522 Model.
     
  4. Agent-P macrumors 68030

    Agent-P

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Location:
    The Tri-State Area
    #4


    That is completely untrue. The Verizon model iPhone 6 will work on quite a few carriers worldwide with LTE (I know for sure AT&T and T-Mobile here in the US get LTE on the Verizon iPhone 6). Verizon is required to have all their LTE devices unlocked due to a spectrum agreement.
     
  5. SPNarwhal thread starter macrumors 65816

    SPNarwhal

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Location:
    illinois
    #5
    They changed that with the late iPhone 5 and newer. (after they released T-Mobile version)
    All Verizon iPhone 5S work on GSM LTE, and now so does the 6 and 6+.
     
  6. Tyler23 macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #6
    Really? Great, that's actually good to know. Guess I hadn't gotten updated information since the iPhone 5.
     
  7. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #7
    All iPhone 6s have CDMA period. A replacement won't be be unlocked if the original wasn't.

    That said, I got Att to unlock my replacement model, presumably because the new IMEI wasn't associated with a contract.
     
  8. SPNarwhal thread starter macrumors 65816

    SPNarwhal

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Location:
    illinois
    #8
    Just sent in a request! We'll see what happens. :)

    What the. I got an instant confirmation.
    Cool!
    Worked.
     

Share This Page