Is it worth it to drive a stick? (Where can you rent a car to learn how?)

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Luigi239, Jul 30, 2009.

1. Luigi239 macrumors 6502a

I may be buying a car in the next 6 months (my first one) and I'm thinking about getting it with a manual transmission. It seems just fun to drive, and I've heard you get better gas millage and control over your car. So my first question, is it worth it to get my car with a manual vs. an automatic? Is it harder to use once you have learned how? I'm a new driver, so I'm worried that it will just be another distraction.

The other thing is where can I rent a stick shift vehicle to learn on? My uncle is more than willing to teach me, but doesn't have car we can use to learn on. I've heard that most car rental places won't rent a stick out to you. I live in Charlotte, NC if that matters.

Thanks.

2. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

thegoldenmackid

You have to be 25 to rent a car. But it's def. worth it.

3. gatepc macrumors 6502

gatepc

I would say if you live in a hilly area get an automatic ( you will burn out your clutch ) if you live in relatively flat area I say get a shift if your willing to learn it because you get more control over the vehicle. But if you don't want to be bothered with it again you can always get an automatic.

4. Luigi239 thread starter macrumors 6502a

Well my uncle is more than old enough. At the rental place, can the car be rented out to him with me driving it? Or will that cause a problem if for instance we got into an accident.

5. swiftaw macrumors 603

swiftaw

When renting the car, you have to list all the people who will be driving it.

Most rental agencies will not allow anyone under 25 to drive their cars, however some do but will charge an extra fee for it.

Also, the vast majority of rental cars in the US are automatics. I have rented many cars in the US and have never been given a standard transmission.

6. killerrobot macrumors 68020

killerrobot