Is iTunes 10.5 required to install iOS 5? If yes, where do I download iTunes 10.5?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Goldfrapp, Jun 6, 2011.

  1. Goldfrapp macrumors 68040

    Goldfrapp

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #1
    I'm a registered Mac (not iOS) developer. When I go into my account, I don't see a link to download iTunes 10.5.

    Also, why is there iTunes 10.3 and 10.5?? Very confusing. Which one is required in order to be able to install iOS 5???

    Thanks.
     
  2. iMJustAGuy macrumors 68020

    iMJustAGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Beach, FL
  3. nomar383 macrumors 65816

    nomar383

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Rexburg, ID
    #3
    It asked me for 10.5 when I tried to install the beta. iTunes 10.5 is available in the iOS Dev Center (paid).
     
  4. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #4
    10.5 is required, which is for developers. 10.3 is the new version that's being released to everyone.
     
  5. Goldfrapp thread starter macrumors 68040

    Goldfrapp

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #5
    Thanks for them quick replies, guys.

    P.S. Makes no sense to release iTunes beta to iOS developers, but not to Mac developers. iTunes is a Mac app after all. $99/year and it doesn't even give me access to iTunes beta. What a BS. :mad::mad::mad:
     
  6. benhollberg macrumors 68020

    benhollberg

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #6
    Agreed. iTunes should be in the Mac developer as well.
     
  7. Krevnik macrumors 68040

    Krevnik

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    #7
    The 10.5 beta isn't required unless you are running the iOS 5 beta which isn't part of the Mac Dev program. I'm not sure I see what the benefit to Mac Devs is.
     
  8. Yumunum macrumors 65816

    Yumunum

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Location:
    U.S.
    #8
    Wait, then how are all these non-devs installing iOS 5? they get their number registered by the dev on the dev's account, and then what?

    Edit: I guess my question still stands... How do non-devs get iTunes 10.5?
     
  9. astroot macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    #9
    The same way they're getting iOS 5.
     
  10. Theappguys macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Location:
    Miramar
    #10
    I am a developer also and was able to download both installed itunes 10.5 how do i install the ios i tried holding the apple key and click restore so i can pick the ios 5 installation file but nothing works

    Help plz
     
  11. Nathchad macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    #11
    Hi guys,

    I know that iOS 5 beta 1 must be installed using iTunes 10.5. I have downloaded these files and now I have installed iTunes 10.5 onto my MacBook but as soon as I start the program I get this notification " The iTunes application could not be opened. An unknown error occurred (-50)."

    This is very annoying, but I have a feeling that the issue is becuase I am running OS X Lion beta. Could this be the problem? Does anyone have any ideas?

    I have tried installing on my other macbook but all I get is "The installation has failed an unknown installation error occurred." This comes up right after entering the password.

    Does anyone have a solution to either of these problems?
     
  12. rick snagwell macrumors 68040

    rick snagwell

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    oceanside, ca
    #12
    plenty of torrents have both itunes 10.5 and ios5. it's not hard to find.
     
  13. nomar383 macrumors 65816

    nomar383

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Rexburg, ID
    #13
    Not sure. I installed it on Snow Leopard and Lion DP4 with no issues...

    Edit: I take it back. I have restored iPhones to iOS 5 on both, but Lion is running iTunes 10.2.2
     
  14. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #14
    the internet?
     
  15. stupidm4n macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
  16. saberahul macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #16
    I downloaded mine from limenera1 but it seems they took the links off. I'm sure you can find the torrents on the web. You're right though, apple should release it to Mac developers as well.
     
  17. 21ce macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    #17
    How do non- developers get their phone working? Do they use those websites to have their phone provisioned? When I was setting up another test phone iOS5 worked, but until I provisioned the phone, in xcode and the developers site, the phone could only receive messages via imessage it couldn't dial out or be activated.

    Unless we're referring to iPod touches....
     
  18. ulbador macrumors 68000

    ulbador

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #18
    I was able to restore, but not activate and sync without installing the iTunes beta.
     
  19. kayloh20 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #19
    What's the point? The only thing 10.5 does is allow you to install iOS 5. How is that in any way pertinent to Mac development?
     
  20. pezzulo macrumors newbie

    pezzulo

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Location:
    selkirk, NY
    #20
    worried reply back soon!!

    if you update itunes to 10.5 without a developer account do you lose all your stuff
     
  21. 21ce macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    #21
    music and stuff? no you dont... there's really no difference btwn beta and the current, aside from allowing you to install iOS5.... no need to upgrade
     
  22. Vundu macrumors 65816

    Vundu

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #22
    Could not get iTunes 10.5 going on my Win7 PC.

    Installed OK but refused to launch, no error just nothing.

    Went back to 10.3 so no beta for me till a new iTunes beta.
     
  23. radiogoober macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    #23
    iTunes 10.5 has absolutely nothing to do with Mac devs. It's only required for iOS devs so therefore only iOS devs should have access to it.
     
  24. Daveoc64 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #24
    I had the same problem.
     
  25. shandyman Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #25
    i had that, but setting it to run as admin and a restart and it loads up fine now
     

Share This Page