Is my 2.6 ghz 2gb ram 2009 Macbook too slow for final cut express?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by jessesmith, Mar 1, 2010.

  1. jessesmith macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #1
    The only reason I ask is because my computer gives me the unrendered beeping message if I try and play ANYTHING in the timeline, and when I just play the video I have set up in a sequence in the left most preview window, I get the dropped frame warning.

    I'm not trying to play a complicated set of clips layered with effects or anything, I'm just trying to edit a few clips I recorded on my webcam.. So I am baffled why I can't do the most basic action in FCE.

    I run logic with garageband with tons of VSTs and real time effects with 10+ tracks on them and my computer doesn't even hiccup.

    I am 100% new to video editing so it could be something very simple I am missing, but if someone could help me with this I would soil my pants in joy.

    I would even be happy if someone could point me in the right direction to a video editing program that can do what I need.

    This is my band playing a song on youtube..
    http://www.youtube.com/user/Ihollywoodmusic#p/a/u/1/Or1DPBCpMXU

    I need to get that multiple video effect without it taking me 10 hours like iMovie does. At the moment I'm using a black muted video and just doing a PIP, exporting it, loading it back in, doing another instrument, exporting it, importing it, etc. etc. etc. This can be quite a proccess.

    Again, I can't express how much I would love for this problem to be solved.
    PLEASE SOMEONE HELP ME.

    Thanks for your time everyone!
    -Jesse
     
  2. jessesmith thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #3
    problem solved

    So it turns out I was making a pretty amateur mistake.
    First off I updated to 4.1 which made it run better..? It seems to anyways.
    I followed the steps shown on the support page given to me by Matthew Yohe which helped a ton as well.

    But the biggest problem was that all my files were just completely wrong for the program. I converted them to DV NTSC 48khz 24fps and all that with mpeg streamclip and now it's running swimmingly,

    thanks!
     
  3. FSMBP macrumors 68020

    FSMBP

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    #4
    Best thing to do is capture with Final Cut Express. It will encode the footage to a format it won't need to render for playback.
     
  4. mac88 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    Boston, MA.
    #5
    I run it just fine on a late 2008 Aluminum 2.0 Macbook. I've never had any problems. Enjoy your software!
     
  5. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #6
    FCE doesn't support 24fps timelines... you want your media to be DV NTSC 29.97fps.
     

Share This Page