Is the MB truly ideal for music production and photography?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Ryuukumori, Apr 20, 2008.

1. Ryuukumori macrumors 6502

I am off to college in autumn of 2009. Plenty of time to wait, plenty of time to prepare. The only obstacle- price. The MB is in a good price range. Does a MB truly equal or surpass my needs?

I am a musician and amateur photographer. I'll be doing hours of music production and editing, as well as occasional photo editing.

With all this in mind, will a MB suit my needs for four consecutive years in a University?

Let's look at the specs. A 13" screen. Intel GMA X3100 graphics processor. 2 GB RAM Standard (will upgrade 3rd party 4 GB). Large hard drive (200 GB+).

Is the MB ideal for a college student like me who would need some power for music production and photography? If it really isn't, I can fork out money for a MBP, but I really want to look at a cheaper alternative first.

Thanks.

2. FederalBmx macrumors member

well if you dont need the macbook right now i would wait for future hardware updates to decide. there could be something thats is a big change by fall of 09

3. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

TuffLuffJimmy

I would shoot for the macbook pro once you get your student discount (that's what I'm doing, hence why I said that's what I'd do :D )

Having said that I currently run a Macbook (late 2006) that I have upgraded to 2GB of ram and a 320GB hard disk. I can't say much for audio production, but I do video editing with Final Cut Express and photo management with Aperture. The video editing in Express is great, smooth and fast. The editing in Aperture is okay... It's a little sluggish after editing for a while, but it works pretty well.

4. iToaster macrumors 68000

iToaster