Is the stock 27 inch Imac better then my 2006 mac pro 2.66?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by yogibear00, Feb 2, 2011.

  1. yogibear00 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    #1
    Hello,
    I want to buy a new imac. I bought the first version mac pro 2.66 (2006) when came out. I never needed everything it offered. I want to buy the 27 inch 3.2 imac. Does this computer have better specs then my mac pro not counting expandability. I am not sure how the CPU's compare. I never needed the 2 2 core CPU as I only used it to play a few games and the Internet. I really don't know much about computer hardware so the it would be great if someone who did could explain this to me. Thank you
     
  2. 0815 macrumors 68000

    0815

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Location:
    here and there but not over there
    #2
    It all depends on your needs - but sound like you are not one of the crazy power users so the iMac should be just fine (as it is for most people).
     
  3. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #3
    It doesn't have better specs, but it may actually work better for your uses, as you don't need quad core, and it has a higher clock speed. It will definitely be sufficient.
     
  4. Kissaragi macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    #4
    You could work out the cost of getting a new display and upgrades for your mac pro vs selling it and buying the imac? Or was it more the form factor of the imac you liked?
     
  5. yogibear00 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    #5
    Thanks all for the information. I am getting the imac because the mac pro needs a upgraded gpu, The superdrive is bad and has been having other hardware problems. I dont feel as bad buying an imac as i felt i spent to much on my mac pro for my needs. Also the mac pro case has not been updated in forever and i know its a small issue but im so sick of the way they looks. May I ask if the only thing better about my mac pro the 2 extra CPU'S and that you can upgrade it? Thanks again.
     

Share This Page