is there a better temp monitor than "tempature monitor"

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Bottomsup, Aug 21, 2011.

1. Bottomsup macrumors regular

everytime i start it it says my HW isn't supported and I can't change the temp that shows by default in the system tray.

I'm using a 2011 MBA

thx

2. iphonsteve4ajob macrumors regular

Perhaps I am not understanding what temp monitor you are attempting to use, but most people on the forums use iStat to monitor temps. Small widget, fairly accurate.

http://www.islayer.com/apps/istatpro/

3. Bottomsup thread starter macrumors regular

sorry for the lack of clarity. I'm using this one

http://www.bresink.com/osx/TemperatureMonitor.html

I'm rather new to mac (just a few months) and disabled the dashboard because it seemed to be idling with a few % CPU and I was paranoid about battery life.

Perhaps I'm overly paranoid about the dashboard and should re-enable it?

thanks

4. 3bs macrumors 603

3bs

Yeah I use iStat pro and it's pretty good. I'm running it on my 2010 MBA

5. iphonsteve4ajob macrumors regular

The dashboard client barely takes 1% cpu. Let it run and use your 3 finger swipe liberally. :p

6. ipaclansite macrumors member

I use iStat, I find myself checking the temperature quite often. It seems to get hotter while charging, I'm guessing thats expected.

7. Oppressed macrumors 65816

Oppressed

8. misterbig macrumors member

Can't believe no one's mentioned smcFanControl, it's the best I've seen so far and you can manually adjust your fan speed as well: http://www.eidac.de/?p=207

9. theSeb macrumors 604

theSeb

I've been using that one for quite a while. The previous version actually had a serious bug in it and it would end up using 100% of your CPU if left to run. Luckily they've fixed it now and I am very pleased.

10. Apple Expert macrumors 65816

+1

11. JonLa macrumors 6502