Is there a better way of doing this? (Dragging windows)

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by Avicenna, Mar 13, 2011.

1. Avicenna macrumors member

I am new to Cocoa programming and I am trying to create an application with similar functionality to the Cinch App in Mac App Store.
    My goal so far is to figure out if a window is being dragged.
    This is what I did so far and it works but before going further and coding what I described in the comments (it should work), I realized this could get very messy and I should try to figure out a better way of doing it...

[​IMG]

So, how else can this be done?

Thanks!

2. PatrickCocoa macrumors 6502a

Simple Method (I hope)

I'm not sure, but I'm guessing there's an existing method that gets called when the window is being dragged. Probably windowBeingMoved or something like that.

Just look in the docs to find that method, then put your code (for when the window is moving) there.

Cocoa has an (invisible) run loop that calls all kinds of interesting methods (appDidFinishLaunching, awakeFromNib, drawRect, many more).

3. PatrickCocoa macrumors 6502a

More research

Looked in the NSWindow reference, but didn't see what I was looking for (isBeingMoved or windowDidStartMove or something like that). Here are some methods that may help, or maybe further documentation research would be fruitful:

- (BOOL)displaysWhenScreenProfileChanges

- (NSEvent *)currentEvent

Indicates whether the window is being resized by the user.
    - (BOOL)inLiveResize

Indicates whether the window can be moved by clicking in its title bar or background.
    - (BOOL)isMovable

Marks the key view loop as dirty and in need of recalculation.
    - (void)recalculateKeyViewLoop

Returns the flags field of the event record for the mouse-down event that initiated the resizing session.
    - (NSInteger)resizeFlags

4. misee macrumors member