Is there a way for me to transfer files from my mac os to my vista os in a computer

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by macbooknewbie12, Nov 18, 2009.

  1. macbooknewbie12 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    #1
    Hi i am quite new to my macbook. My macbook has 2 os window vista and mac leopard.Is it possible for me to transfer/share files from my mac to my vista without using any thumbdrive or removable storage. (it is quite troublesome switching here and there)
    Thanks in advance:)
     
  2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #2
    Yes. Your Mac should be able to see and read the Windows partition natively. If it's formatted to NTFS, it won't be able to write, but installing MacFUSE and NTFS-3G will add that functionality.

    On the Windows side, installing MacDrive will give you read/write support for Mac partitions.
     
  3. macbooknewbie12 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    #3
    i jus transfered a few gb of avi format videos to my mac from my vista. I tried to play the video but it does the vid never show and the audio never play but the video is playing/running. Why is it so?
     
  4. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #4
    You probably don't have the necessary codecs. Where did you get the videos? Perian may help, if you don't have it.
     
  5. macbooknewbie12 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    #5
    cant imovie or idvd read avi format? I tried importing my avi videos and nothing happened.
     
  6. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #6
    AVI is just a container. What the applications can read depends on the codec that was used to create the video file. Like I said, Perian should sort everything out.
     
  7. macbooknewbie12 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    #7
    yes it worked. Persian solve the problem. Thanks alot bro:D
     

Share This Page