Is there a way to make imac run on an external drive, instead of internal?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by mayhone1, Feb 8, 2012.

  1. mayhone1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #1
    I was wondering if there is way to make my imac run on a new external drive, instead of internal? I just bought 2 2tb drives and want to make one be the main drive of the computer, can this be done and if so how?... :apple:
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
  3. mayhone1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #3
    usb 2.0
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    Then let it be, as the internal HDD offers read and write speeds of 100 MB/s and more, while USB 2.0 limits you to 35 MB/s read/write speeds. FW 800 would be better, and while USB 2.0 is okay to boot from for troubleshooting purposes, it is too slow to have a good experience with Mac OS X.

    Why do you want to do it anyway? You can use external HDDs to store data on and be accessible in Mac OS X.
     
  5. mayhone1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #5
    Mainly I want to use it as a main source for my itunes library...
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
  7. mayhone1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #7
    Will this ensure that all my future itunes content goes to the external? :apple:
     
  8. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #8
    Yep.
     
  9. mayhone1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #9
    Alright thanks...
     
  10. tezro macrumors regular

    tezro

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #10
    You only have to get into the Preferences of iTunes and set the library path to another drive or folder.

    I do the same at home. Got a Mac Pro with a SSD for booting the OS and apps+games, and a HDD for stuff like iTunes importing and podcasts and such.
    All my music itself is hosted on a NAS.
     
  11. ombrenelcielo macrumors regular

    ombrenelcielo

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    #11
    This is actually hilarious. Questions like these actually reminds me that people have google as their home page but actually are ignoring its scope.
    First result of a search in google: itunes to point to external hard drive links to an article here on macrumors.

    I wonder if you actually took a look to the checkboxes in the preferences panel of iTunes prior to post here...
     

    Attached Files:

  12. GyroFX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles and NorCal
    #12
    just make sure your external HD is on when you're putting new music into your itunes library or it'll default into the itunes storage library on your internal HD.
     
  13. Bl0ckHe1d macrumors 6502

    Bl0ckHe1d

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Location:
    Caledonia
    #13
    I found that running my iTunes library from an external drive much slower than the iMac main HDD...so i reverted back!
     

Share This Page