Is there a way to set which GPU should handle the Boot screen of OS X ?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by i0sen, Jun 3, 2016.

  1. i0sen macrumors newbie

    i0sen

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    #1
    Hi all :)
    Is there a way to set which GPU should handle the Boot screen of OS X ?
    I want my ATI Radeon 5870 not to be the GPU which handles the Boot screen of OS X. Rather I'd like to have my ATI Radeon 2600 XT handle the Boot screen ;)

    Regards !
     
  2. orph macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    the gpu plunged in to display 1 will be the primary gpu, so if your 2600 xt is set as ruining display 1 then it will show the boot screen.
    but that also means that the 2600 xt will be the primary GPU that is used ie not the faster 5870 unless you are using apps that can see and use the second GPU like davinci resolve but last i saw the gains from runing a ui and working card for resolve is low if at all now with newer cards.

    so if it was me id only do it for trouble shooting

    why do you need boot screens? iv not had them for 3 years and relay dont miss them.
    i use system prefs -> startup disk to chose boot volume and you can get that app for fast windows rebooting (boot champ https://kainjow.com/ )
     
  3. i0sen thread starter macrumors newbie

    i0sen

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    #3
    Thx for your fast replay !
    Sadly i tried that already by setting display 1 to the display attached to the 2600 XT. But still the bootscreen does show up on the monitor attached to the 5870. I use my Mac Pro for VMWARE ESXi. And i want to make use of GPU passthrough.
    I dont need the bootscreen rather i need the 5870 to be unused.
    My workaround until now is: I unplug all Displays attached to the 5870 and reattach them after the Mac Pro has booted up.
     
  4. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    Is it possible to swap their slots?
     
  5. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #5
    I think OS X inits slot 1 first. If you can't swap slots, the easiest solution would be removing the EFI from your 5870 card.
     
  6. i0sen thread starter macrumors newbie

    i0sen

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    #6
    Thx for all the solutions i'm gonna try them out in order of their effort and let you know how it went !
     
  7. orph macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    im a tad confused, you dont want the 5870 to display a boot screen why?
    unplug the display from that card?
     

Share This Page