All iPads Is there an advantage to setting up as a new iPad to restoring from an iCloud backup?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by zooby, May 10, 2014.

  1. zooby, May 10, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2017
  2. s2mikey macrumors 68020

    s2mikey

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    #2
    People seem to be 50/50 on this issue. It certainly can't hurt to start as new or whatever ya call it. But, there's no gaurantee you'll notice either.
     
  3. Newtons Apple Suspended

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #3
    This is almost a religious argument. I have always restored and moved on with life and never had the first problem with any of my iPods, iPhones or iPads.

    Others swear about starting from new. I just do nto have the time to screw with it so I do a restore.

    Try restore and you will see.
     
  4. Donka macrumors 68020

    Donka

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Location:
    Scotland
    #4
    Restore and save yourself the time. Only resort to a fresh install if you experience any issues.
     
  5. Rodster macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #5
    For me, restoring from iCloud is just convenience if I do a full erase. It restores all my bookmarks and pictures automatically. I love that feature.
     
  6. thatrightmes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    #6
    Right,Restore and save yourself the time. Only resort to a fresh install if you experience any issues. thanks[​IMG]
     
  7. rajpatel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    #7
    Yes

    I just restored mine from the cloud and it is so much faster, just as experiment one day I will set it up as new to see the speed difference.
     
  8. rajpatel, May 14, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: May 15, 2014

    rajpatel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    #8
    It's not like I did it for fun. My pad wouldn't erase any of the rentals and there was no space and I find this the only thing that works.
     
  9. foobi, May 14, 2014
    Last edited: May 14, 2014

    foobi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #9
    Yes, because Apple will blame it on you if you have some problem. So set it up as new and if you have problem.
     
  10. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #10
    Another vote for only setup as new if you are actually having problems. There's a very slight chance that setting up as new might give you a performance increase, but it's not worth the hassle of setting up everything again from scratch.
     
  11. TWO2SEVEN macrumors 68040

    TWO2SEVEN

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    #11
    Sounds totally rational. :rolleyes:
     
  12. Harmonious Zen macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    #12
    Totally anecdotal, but I haven't setup a device as new in years and I've had exactly zero problems with my devices.
     

Share This Page