Is there any way of knowing when the Ivy Bridge Turbo Boost is kicking in?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Jobsian, Jun 19, 2012.

  1. Jobsian macrumors 6502a

    Jobsian

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #1
    2012 11" Ultimate here, I've only had one instance when it became really hot and the fan noticeably loud and that was when I caned the CPU by opening multiple Youtube vids (31 of them) in either 1080p or 720p.

    However despite the heat and sound it still performed flawlessly (no skipping), this 2.0GHz i7 is an animal.

    I've had no heat/fan issues since as I've been browsing normally however I'm wondering if I had activated the Turbo Boost. Is there any way I can find out in realtime if the CPU is turbo-ing and is it a graded increase or does it go straight to 3.2GHz?
     
  2. travis64 macrumors 6502a

    travis64

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Location:
    NEW YORK
  3. oneMadRssn macrumors 68040

    oneMadRssn

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #4
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Jobsian thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Jobsian

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #5
    That was painless, straight into dashboard, many thanks (for both suggestions!), should hopefully be able to post impressions :)
     
  5. Jobsian thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Jobsian

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #6
    Ok I have iStat Pro, it shows the CPU load %, fan RPM etc but I can't find the clock speed, is that available to see?
     
  6. Jobsian thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Jobsian

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
  7. goinskiing macrumors 6502a

    goinskiing

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    Meridian, ID
    #8
    Turbo is not working in Windows with the Ivy Bridge i7s in the 2012 MBAs.
     
  8. jsolares macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Location:
    Land of eternal Spring
    #9
    maybe with sysctl hw.cpufrequency in the Terminal
     
  9. throAU macrumors 601

    throAU

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
  10. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #11
    I believe I read in the Ars review of the Air that the only way to tell was with an Intel tool that only works in Windows.
     

Share This Page