Is there any way to convert a video to be compatible with iPhone and Apple TV?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by mrat93, Aug 20, 2008.

  1. mrat93 macrumors 65816

    mrat93

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
  2. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #2
  3. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #3
    well, using visual hub I would wager that the iPhone preset should be compatible with the atv since the atv can play anything the iPhone can.
     
  4. ayale99 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    #4
    Mp4's made with the AppleTV preset will work just fine on the iPhone. I don't really see a need to make separate mp4's for iPhone and AppleTV, unless you have a lot of time on your hands, an extra quad-core and a bunch of hard drives laying around.
     
  5. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #5
    I don't own an iPhone yet, so can't say for sure.

    But reading other topics, the "All Devices" with the quality on 'Go Nuts' seems to work. Read the sticky in this forum. I know it is for HandBrake, but it gives a good guideline to what bitrates and resolutions you can get away with.
     
  6. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #6
    Just make sure not to try to use bframes with the iPhone. It won't play them.
     
  7. badmac78 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #7
    I think there are few other posts on this.
    I've been using Handbrake with the High-Res Ipod setting. Looks pretty decent on both the phone and my TV.
     
  8. cherbert macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    #8
    Er, no they won't!

    You need to use the iPhone pre-set on Go Nuts setting.
     
  9. bacaramac macrumors 65816

    bacaramac

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #9
    Solution: Use handbrake and donate to the dev's vs. paying for VisualHub.

    Then, see sticky at top of the ATV forum. My settings are in post #21.
     
  10. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #10
    I mean fair enough if it was a big company, but I really think that's harsh.
     
  11. ayale99 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    #11
    Er, yes they do. I do it all the time.
     
  12. bacaramac macrumors 65816

    bacaramac

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #12
    The only reason I say this is because Handbrake is offered for free and the parties involved even participate on these forums to help out users like me. Nothing against VH, but the free guys get my vote for support and quality.
     

Share This Page