Is there any way to get T-Mobile 3G on iPhone 3G?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by ThugZilla, Mar 9, 2009.

  1. ThugZilla macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
  2. 11800506 macrumors 65816

    11800506

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Washington D.C. Area
    #2
    No. T-Mobile's 3G uses different bands and won't ever me compatible until Apple releases an iPhone which features those bands, which likely will never happen. You can however use T-Mobile's EDGE.
     
  3. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #3
    Well, Technically speaking, it is possible.


    Open up your iPhone, take out the network chip, put in a compatible T-Mobile 3G chip.
    Then, you have to make drivers for the network to work on the iPhone.
     
  4. tnisatard macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #4
    has anyone done it?
     
  5. ppc750fx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #5
    No.

    Also, you'd have to replace more than just the baseband chip.

    Let's put it this way: you're not going to do this. Even if there was a documented procedure for doing it, you wouldn't.

    If you're on T-Mobile in the US and you have an iPhone 3G, EDGE and GPRS are the only forms of mobile data you're gonna get. Sorry.
     

Share This Page