Is there no easy way to capture a portion of the screen on Windows 7?

Discussion in 'Apple, Inc and Tech Industry' started by piatti, Mar 8, 2012.

  1. piatti macrumors 6502a

    piatti

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    On Mac is extremely convenient and easy but on Windows it seems you have to use a separate program and there is no integral shortkey to capture? This is so inconvenient.
     
  2. DingleButt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
  3. piatti thread starter macrumors 6502a

    piatti

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    snipping tool is cumbersome to use though. you have to go to start and then choose it. IN mac it's so fast.
     
  4. DingleButt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    #4
    click windows button, type "sn" click enter
     
  5. piatti thread starter macrumors 6502a

    piatti

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    You're right it's fast. It's not as fast as Mac but I guess it's fast enough.
     
  6. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    I use snagit for windows and little snipper for OSX, both offer tools to high light a portion of the screen and capture it
     
  7. piatti thread starter macrumors 6502a

    piatti

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    Do you need a program for the Mac? How is using an app better than just pressing command shift four?
     
  8. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #8
    If you just want a single window, use Alt+Print Screen.
     
  9. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #9
    I like using little snapper because I can automatically upload it my web host, it offers some annotation ability and keeps them in a "library" to use. With using OSX's default method, it creates a file that I need to work on.

    If you don't need to capture your screen very often then I'd say don't bother with one, but since I use it a lot in my job (and here) its a useful tool
     
  10. PigDog macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    #10
    I just tried and this message came up:

    Screen grabs are unavailable during DVD Playback

    Which makes it less useful.
     
  11. east85 macrumors 65816

    east85

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #11
    When I made the switch this was one of the first things I enjoyed way more in OS X
     
  12. ixodes macrumors 601

    ixodes

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Location:
    Pacific Coast, USA
    #12
    You can't always have what you want :)
     

Share This Page