Is There Still Exposé or Not?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by tctony, Jul 8, 2011.

  1. tctony macrumors 6502a

    tctony

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #1
    I can't seem to find a definitive answer, so I'm hoping to get one here.

    Is there still Exposé in Lion? I am talking about the one in Snow Leopard and Leopard - normal exposé. I am not interested in this Mission Control stuff.
     
  2. SideStepSociety macrumors 6502

    SideStepSociety

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
  3. tctony thread starter macrumors 6502a

    tctony

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #3
    Is it the only exposé on there?

    I just want to be able to see my open windows. Mission Control sucks because it groups all the windows together. Thats not even exposé.
     
  4. SideStepSociety macrumors 6502

    SideStepSociety

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #4
    If I recall correctly, application windows exposé still exists, however, all windows exposé is different now with Mission Control. Like you mentioned, it groups application windows together. And I could be wrong on this as I haven't got my computer with Lion nearby to check, but it may "unfold" or "expand" when you hover over it/scroll/something.

    I believe you'll enjoy Mission Control once you get to try it.
     
  5. rmbrown09 macrumors 6502a

    rmbrown09

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #5
    Simple answer.
    1.) Mission control is the new expose, there is no expose like you are accustomed to in snow leopard.

    2.)The keys and actions that you used for Expose are now used to activate Mission Control.


    NO EXPOSE
    ONLY MISSION CONTROL

    simple.
     
  6. tctony thread starter macrumors 6502a

    tctony

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #6
    Damnit. Thats not what I wanted to hear.


    While I've yet to try it, I don't think I will like it. I just want Exposé in one swipe, not two or three.
     
  7. murdercitydevil macrumors 68000

    murdercitydevil

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Location:
    california
    #7
    Expose still exists, but it only shows you the currently selected app's windows. So yes and no.
     
  8. superericla macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    #8
    Single app Exposé is there but all app Exposé is not.
     
  9. BlackMangoTree macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    #9
    Mission Control makes me cry. What were Apple thinking.
     
  10. sheeracali macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    #10
    If you want lion, just deal with mission control, if not, don't upgrade or wait for an app or hack to come out. Honestly, I use an app called displaperture, because the lack of round corners in leopard got under my skin a little, but that didn't keep me from upgrading. I personally love Mission Control. It's way easier for me to manage my windows, because they are sorted by app. I also, love the new spaces and full screen apps, because honestly, how hard is it to press control + the space number? plus, I can swipe through each one with a gesture or use a gesture to preview each one right from mission control. And as fall as having a lot of spaces, they zoom as you hover the mouse over them making it easy to thumb through. What apple did was basically take all of the window management apps and merged them into one. Mission control is like a one stop shop showing me all my windows all my spaces and all my fullscreen apps at a glance. Thats my opinion, and really to each their own, but Im sure there will be developers that will make apps or find hacks to accommodate people who want it the SL way.
     
  11. BlackMangoTree macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    #11
    By far the biggest issue with Mission Control is that is doesn't work with Minimised windows.
     
  12. Simplicated macrumors 65816

    Simplicated

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
    #12
    My complaint about Mission Control is not not showing minimized windows (you could easily get back by clicking the icon in the dock anyway...), but it stacks windows of the same app, which interferes with picking the right window.
     
  13. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #13
    It's not about getting used to it, if you use it enough you probably will, but not having app Expose and seeing minimized windows dumb IMO. I thought the whole Expose in Snow Leopard was perfect, took what was available in Leopard and refined it. Now you have to do more just to get the old functionality back. Sure, it's "easy" but I think Apple only did what they did because they wanted to market the multi-touch trackpad because I don't see how Mission Control is as quick/efficient as the Expose in Snow Leopard. Maybe Apple got it right and many enjoy Mission Control but for me it's a thumbs down.
     
  14. rtolboom macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    #14
    The old expose is still there!

    Press ctrl + arrowkeydown
     
  15. Simplicated macrumors 65816

    Simplicated

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
    #15
    The Snow Leopard one was good except it presented windows in a grid (which is oblivious of the size ratio among windows). App Exposé is still there in Lion, you just have to click and hold the app's icon in the Dock, then choose Show All Windows.
     
  16. HawaiiMacAddict macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    On one of my Macs of course
    #16
    Why not just try the four-finger swipe down - that works for me. I even opened a second window, put in a different desktop, then minimized it. When I swiped down with four fingers, I still saw it. BTW, the CTL-down arrow thing does exactly the same thing. As a matter of fact, CTL-up arrow invokes Mission Control, just like four fingers up.
     
  17. Jagardn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    #17
    Why do you need to minimize windows? I never have. Expose and Mission Control should eliminate the need to minimize.
     
  18. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #18
    Yeah, but that's the whole fuss about Expose in Lion. You have to do more clicking/gestures just to get near the functionality of that of Snow Leopard. I get that with Mission Control, it's suppose to make everything cleaner so you're more "organized" but when they first intro'd the feature in the keynote, I knew it was going to be something that affected me and how I used it. Finally being able to test out Mission Control with the GM on a spare HDD, it's not something where I'll say "well I'll get used to it". You have to do more to do the same thing than what you did in Snow Leopard and that's my problem - it's a way for Apple to show everyone "hey look our multitouch trackpad, it's better than everything else, look at all the stuff we can do with it".
     
  19. BlackMangoTree macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    #19
    So i don't get a cluttered desktop. Having 12 + windows on the desktop becomes a mess and the way mission control stacks them on top of each other maces it hard to select the one you're after.

    Mission Control is just very flawed.
     
  20. Simplicated, Jul 10, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2011

    Simplicated macrumors 65816

    Simplicated

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
    #20
    I concur with you. I tried very hard to get used to Mission Control, but the way it stacks windows of the same app is just a pain in my neck... Exposé in Panther (Tiger and Leopard as well) was perfect (maybe except minimized windows, which some likes).

    EDIT: As mentioned by the poster above, this demonstrates how chaotic Mission Control can be when you have a lot of windows of the same app. Imagine having to pick the right image in Photoshop...
     

    Attached Files:

  21. BlackMangoTree macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    #21
    I think this is going to end up like when they removed list view from the dock in 10.5. They will give up the option to use the old expose and spaces in an update.
     
  22. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #22
    Exactly. In order to further get to where you want to be, you'll have to now perform another gesture just to expand the group of windows to get to the right one which in itself present another problem. That only works when you have maybe 5 windows opened. Say you have more, try expanding the group, how many Windows do you see? Not all of them.
     
  23. bushido Suspended

    bushido

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #23
    i love mission control, i actually use spaces now, ive never used it before.
     
  24. tkermit macrumors 68030

    tkermit

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    #24
    Doesn't it make sense, if you have an application with that many windows open, to just go into Application Exposé anyway? On Snow Leopard, I sometimes have 40,50 windows open. I would expect Mission Control to be more helpful in picking out one of three Mail windows among 40 other application windows than Exposé has been so far. Of course, I, too, was admittedly a fan of Panther's Exposé...
     
  25. Simplicated macrumors 65816

    Simplicated

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
    #25
    It does make sense, but not everyone uses application exposé... (and it's actually harder to do so in 10.7 unless you know Control-F3)
     

Share This Page