Carrier Is this a good LTE speed for Sprint?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Jacoblee23, Sep 28, 2013.

  1. Jacoblee23 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    #1
    I honestly don't know a whole lot about it so I figured that I would ask you all. Thanks in advance.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Tthomas612, Sep 28, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2013

    Tthomas612 macrumors 65816

    Tthomas612

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    #2
    Actually yes it is. That's around what I average with my Sprint LTE

    And I'll add this. When Sprints update is finished I'd say they will go much higher. There's Actually a guy on these forums that can give a lot of insight to all of this ... I just can't think of his name lol, but he's very insightful.
     
  3. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #3
    That is damn good for Sprint. The highest I have gotten has been around 15 down and that was right when one of the first LTE towers in PHX went live.

    Just got LTE signal at my home last night and was pulling about 11 down. This morning it's about 6 down so you're getting good speed for Sprint.

    At the very least it's not sub 1mbps on 3G like it has been!
     
  4. Tthomas612 macrumors 65816

    Tthomas612

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    #4
    I know it's nice to run a speed test and see it go up more and more. With 3G I was lucky to get 1 Mbps down and .5 up, but now I'm just happy to see LTE
     
  5. verwon macrumors 68030

    verwon

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    Seattle
    #5
    Right now, I can't pick up LTE, at all, in my apartment and the 3G signal also goes to crap.

    But if I go outside and walk about a block, I get great LTE! LOL
     
  6. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #6
    Amen to that!!!

    ----------

    This is why I was surprised yesterday that I was getting LTE at home. I knew where it was because of Sensorly but driving to my mailbox it slipped back to 3G. Heading back towards the house it picked up again and stayed. So, my mailbox which is about 200 or so feet from the house (down my street) puts me out of range. That tells me I'm on the outside edge of the signal. But it also tells me that they are turning the power up probably because that signal didn't reach my house on Thursday.
     
  7. ET iPhone Home macrumors 68040

    ET iPhone Home

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Orange County, California USA
    #7
    I'm with Sprint. How can one determine if they're getting LTE. All I see is the those signal bars to the left, followed by the name Sprint, followed by another radar-type signal with no indication of 3G OR LTE.
     
  8. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #8
    You are on WiFi. Turn off WiFi in Settings>WiFi.

    You will either see a 3G or an LTE icon pop up.
     
  9. Carlanga macrumors 604

    Carlanga

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #9
    Your sig says 4S so that phone doesn't do LTE
     
  10. ET iPhone Home macrumors 68040

    ET iPhone Home

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Orange County, California USA
    #10
    Ok Thanks. I never really payed any attention to this because I don't use data since Sprint's signal has been so lousy. I basically gave up and only use it on wifi. I'll test it out and be more aware of whether I'm able to get LTE. Thanks.
     
  11. c0LdFire macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    #11
    If your signature is accurate, you should be aware that the iPhone 4S does not support LTE.
     
  12. verwon macrumors 68030

    verwon

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    Seattle
    #12
    Earlier this year, I could only pick it up over a mile away, up on top of the hill at the hospital, when I went up for my cardio appointments. It was the same area I picked up the Wimax on my old HTC Evo 4G.

    Picking it up closer to home also tells me that they are improving things here.

    I can get it all over Seattle, of course.
     
  13. Jacoblee23 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    #13
    I picked this up tonight! Even better!:)
     

    Attached Files:

  14. ross1998 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    #14
    for sprint anything over 5 is considered great!!!
     
  15. Col Ronson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    #15
    those are half decent. Granted hopefully it improves for all our sprint-using brothers.
     
  16. Jman13 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #16
    25 down is pretty good for any network. I've gotten higher on AT&T (I think my best is 42 down, 20 up), but I average about 15-20 down and 5-15 up in Columbus, so that's not bad at all.
     
  17. rocknblogger macrumors 68020

    rocknblogger

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #17
    Nice to start seeing positive reports about Sprint LTE. In my area it's been very slowly being worked on for the past six months or so and I've been seeing a slow but steady improvement. I put this screeny up in another thread yesterday:
     

    Attached Files:

  18. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #18
    Yeah, it's nice to finally be having some speed. Now if I could just get LTE in Glendale, AZ where I work I'd be good! :D
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page