Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

xJennyx

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 6, 2018
Im a college student and I'm looking for an iMac. However I can't afford a new one because like I said... I'm a college student, lol. Please keep in mind I'm not a super computer savvy person.

Anyway I see a listing on Craigslist offering an iMac, 21.5 inch 2011 model for $200.

"it has 4GB ram 500GB HDD 3.2GHZ i3 Processor it is loaded with, Microsoft Office, Final Cut Pro, Logic Pro and comes with Apple Keyboard and Mouse and power cord"

Is this too good to be true? I definitely have some ideas about checking it when I see it such as bringing a DVD/cd with me, SD card, USB plugins, etc. to make sure everything works fine. I just want to check to make sure that this is even worth pursuing.

Thanks in advance!

xJennyx

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 6, 2018
Reactions: blesscheese

velocityg4

macrumors 604
Dec 19, 2004
Georgia
Looking at SOLD used prices on eBay. That model with similar specs goes for $250 to $285. Given that it has a bent stand. $200 sounds reasonable.

If it doesn’t include license keys and installers. The software is about as valuable as any pirated software. Meaning $0. Since anyone would be well advised to format the drive and clean install the OS on any used computer.

I wouldn’t jump the gun and proclaim it is stolen because the stand is bent. That is no evidence. People are klutzes. It could have been dropped or knocked off a desk. Under any number of circumstances.

I would only be wary. Because a drop could have damaged something internally. Check the ports and boot into diagnostic mode.

blesscheese

macrumors 6502a
Apr 3, 2010
Central CA