Is TRIM enabled on an 2011 15" MBP if I install an aftermarket SSD myself?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mgartner0622, Mar 14, 2011.

  1. mgartner0622, Mar 14, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2011

    mgartner0622 macrumors 65816

    mgartner0622

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    #1
    Hello-
    I'm wondering if anyone knows the answer to this question.
    I have a base 15"
    If I install an SSD that supports trim into this computer, will it work with TRIM?
    Or is that Apple only SSD's?
    Thanks!
     
  2. iMacDragon macrumors 65816

    iMacDragon

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    All the evidence currently says it only works with apple supplied SSD's right now. Everyone hopes this will change, perhaps with lion.
     
  3. rebby macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Location:
    MN
    #3
    I concur. My aftermarket SSD does not have TRIM support.
     
  4. mgartner0622 thread starter macrumors 65816

    mgartner0622

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    #4
    Well thank you both of you. :)
    I already have an SSD from my older 2010 model, so i'll just install it and wait till Lion.
    Thanks again!
     
  5. jjk454ss macrumors 601

    jjk454ss

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #5
    This was disappointing to learn, I got excited when I first saw that 10.6.6 supported TRIM in the new MacBooks, only to find out my Intel SSD still wouldn't get it.
     

Share This Page