iSight not recognized because of secondary monitor as primary?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by iBlue, Aug 9, 2007.

  1. iBlue macrumors Core

    iBlue

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #1
    As the title would suggest, my iSight is not being recognized because my iMac is not the primary (using a 20" dell thingy as my primary because it's bigger)

    I feel like it's stupid to force me to use the iMac as primary just because of the damn iSight. (photo, for the hell of it)

    Any way around this?



    (edit for newcomers to this thread, resolved by resetting SMU)
     
  2. iToaster macrumors 68000

    iToaster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my MacBook Pro
    #2
    You've gone through all the preference panes and such trying this out, right? Other than using the iMac as the main monitor (it can't hurt) I see no way around this.
     
  3. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #3
    i'm using a 20" LG204WT with my MBP, and the internal iSight gets recognised fine when the external monitor is primary (basically whenever it's plugged in).

    does it show up in system profiler under USB?
     
  4. iBlue thread starter macrumors Core

    iBlue

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    No, should it? (under USB? it's an internal iSight in the iMac... just making sure)
     
  5. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #5
    yup. iSight was only firewire externally, all the internals are USB2.

    see the attached pic:


    [​IMG]
     
  6. iBlue thread starter macrumors Core

    iBlue

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #6
    Hmmmm... what would cause it not to show? (I know it functions without the secondary monitor aspect)
     
  7. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #7
    did it work until you moved your office around? there could be a loose connection in there.

    that's about all i can think of right now, so i'll start thinking and see what i can come up with. ;)


    edit: have you tried working through this?
    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=93240
     
  8. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #8
    Is it recognized if you don't use the external monitor?

    Have you tried unplugging other USB devices in case there's a conflict?
     
  9. iBlue thread starter macrumors Core

    iBlue

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #9
    Yes it did work yesterday before office got rearranged. (it wasn't manhandled or anything, the thing flew thousands of miles from the US damn it, surely it can move 2 feet to the right)
    Now even with iMac being primary it doesn't "see" the iSight. Unplugged the secondary, switched users... still nothing. (not application specific either)

    Just fab. :rolleyes:




    edit:

    Freaking YES! I reset the SMU and it worked. (even with the secondary monitor primary)

    I admit it, I was wrong to doubt it. :p

    Thanks guys :)
     
  10. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #10
    yay :)

    good for you. :p
     

Share This Page