iPad Isn't there anyone who can tell me the amount of RAM in this thing

Discussion in 'iPad' started by iphone joe, Oct 17, 2014.

  1. iphone joe macrumors regular

    iphone joe

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Location:
    NY
    #1
    Who says 1GB of RAM another's says 2GB of RAM, this is getting crazy now.

    Isn't there anyone who can tell me the amount of RAM in this thing?
     
  2. MikhailT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #2
    Nobody has an iPad Air 2 right now. Nobody will know until someone picks it up first and check, which won't happen until early next week.

    Just wait.
     
  3. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #3
    I'm pretty sure Tim Cook could tell you. But he won't.
     
  4. bandofbrothers macrumors 601

    bandofbrothers

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Uk
    #4
    Ok.

    Another question.

    Why do Apple not include this information in their Keynotes ?

    Lots of other information is supplied in the Keynote ~ so why not this !
     
  5. cababah macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    #5
    A better question is why don't they list RAM in their product specs for iOS devices?
     
  6. bobbba macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #6

    Because it doesn't matter...
     
  7. Mackinjosh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    #7
    Yeah, you're right. They should stop putting ram in iOS devices altogether. Because it just doesn't matter.
     
  8. prism macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    #8
    It is the difference between having a glorified paperweight and a full fledged tablet computer, so it should matter. The original Air was somewhat crippled due to too little sRAM, plain and simple.
    I realised this major hardware shortcoming when the iOS update that came after the Air was introduced did nothing to improve it. At that point I got rid of the Air to make place for the new one. Now I'm just waiting for confirmation of 2gb sRAM before I pull the trigger.
     
  9. vmflapem macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    #9
    Honestly, iPad only ends up using 10mb of RAM so 1gb is way too excessive, which makes it irrelevant. So, "it doesn't matter".
     
  10. prism macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    #10
    Source?
     
  11. bandofbrothers macrumors 601

    bandofbrothers

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Uk
    #11
    I can't verify or refute your claim but must add that to some it does matter what RAM is along with say for example looking at how much capacity of memory a computer / laptop / phone has etc.

    It's an important spec that many now look for.
     
  12. Celedral macrumors 6502

    Celedral

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #12
    Reviews will be out on either monday or tuesday. I too am curious, but until then.
     
  13. cababah macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    #13
    What an honor to have an Apple engineer in this thread!

    Seriously. Everyone can just wait a few days...then iPads will be in ample supply at launch so there's no rush to pre-order.
     
  14. bhags8 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    #14
    Lots of people are going to buy one if it has 2gb.
    Lots of people are not going to buy one if it does not have 2gb.
    Lots of people are going to buy one EITHER WAY.
    But, if Apple wants to sell a ton they better have put 2gb in it, because that will be the only chance I ever buy one.
    Wanted the Mini but that thing is so outdated its not even funny.
     
  15. bobbba macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #15
    I've had my air since launch and it's always performed just fine. 1gb, 2gb it doesn't matter to me if it performs ok and it always has in my opinion so...
     
  16. mrex macrumors 68020

    mrex

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Location:
    europe
    #16
    why dont you just ask it from apple? surely they are obliged to give all information before a customer makes decision to buy or not to buy. or is apple exception?
     
  17. DSTOFEL, Oct 18, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2014

    DSTOFEL macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    #17
    I've had both the original Mini and R-Mind and were my most used Apple devices the past 2 years. Bought the 1st generation Mini even though it was "Gimped" with Inferior display resolution & Gamut (I suffered through). Bought the R-Mini even though it was still "Gimped" with inferior gamut (I suffered through). Tim Cook forgot to send me a customer satisfaction card on the R-Mini....wasn't 100% satisfied. I Sold the R-Mini 3 weeks ago in anticipation of updated Mini (huge disappointment). So now what to do?

    Buy the Mini 3? No way!
    Re-Buy a cheap Mini 2? No way way!
    Re-Buy a cheaper Mini 1? No way way way!

    Buy the Air 2? Possibly, even though I don't really want a full sized tablet (I value portability). I'll consider "only" if it has 2GB....then (in my mind) it stands a chance of having longevity....like that of the iPad 2. In my mind, we are nearing the end of the line when 1GB will be sufficient for an iPad.....honestly, I think we're already there. Like you, I'll wait and confirm before purchasing.

    As a fall back position I've pre ordered the Nexus 9. If no 2GB in the Air, I'll stick with this decision and take a lick off the lollipop for the next year....then reconsider!
     
  18. prism macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    #18
    Sure, to each his own, enjoy your Air!
     
  19. laudern macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    #19
    Some people originally thought quills and chalk would be all they would ever need for written communication.

    Some people are just short sighted.
     
  20. Newtons Apple Suspended

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #20
    I think that the fact they said nothing is a pretty good sign it will only have 1GB of RAM.

    I am betting that even if it did have 2 Gb, it would still not solve the problem.

    Maybe next year.
     
  21. Ubuntu macrumors 68000

    Ubuntu

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK/US
    #21
    10mb? I highly doubt it. Most of the apps I've worked on use 5-30mb of memory themselves, so imagine the amount of memory all the stock apps & services of the OS itself require.
     
  22. TJone macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #22
    Job's reality distortion field is still working if we believe ram does not matter. Of course it does.
     
  23. Kiimora macrumors 6502a

    Kiimora

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Location:
    London UK
    #23
    This is turning into a "RAMgate"��
     
  24. Lucifer666 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    #25
    iFixit Friday.

    everything else is BS.

    (at least I think it's friday :eek: )

    Then again, there might be a leak. We only have one blurry one presently.
     

Share This Page