issue connecting to tv as extra monitor

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by tommyprevatt, Feb 24, 2012.

  1. tommyprevatt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    #1
    I'm trying to connect my mid 2009 Macbook Pro (5,5) to a Vizio sv370xvt 1080 TV as an extra monitor. I'm connecting it via mini-display port to vga adapter. The adapter is the official apple brand, not a generic brand.

    It's connecting fine, but it's only displaying on the TV at 640x480. No matter what settings I use it will not let me change the resolution. It lists 640x480 as the only compatible resolution for the TV.

    It works fine in OS X. OS X gives every possible resolution up to 1920x1080 as compatible resolutions.

    Anyone else experiencing similar issues? Anyone know how to resolve it?

    Thanks.
     
  2. henryhenryhenry macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    #2
    Are you using the "mirroring" or "extension"
    Try go the display-->"arrangement" and change it to extension
     
  3. tommyprevatt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    #3
    It is set up as an extension. I've tried to see if using it as a mirror changes the resolution options, but it doesn't.
     
  4. WRP macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    What's the resolution you have your input on the TV set to? The tech specs specifically list it as "Computer Support:1920 x 1080, 1360 x 768, 800 x 600, 640 x 480 via VGA/HDMI"

    Sounds like your tv isn't setup properly.
     
  5. tommyprevatt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    #5
    My TV is set up properly. There are no native settings on the TV to change the resolution when connected to a computer. Besides, like I said earlier, it works fine under OS X. Just not Windows.

    Thanks
     
  6. WRP macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    Well you should have specified. I use the "new posts" button and didn't see which forum I was in. Maybe specify for us dummies who don't pay attention? :p
     
  7. tommyprevatt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    #7
    Sorry, didn't mean to come off as cheeky.

    I am still having this issue, if anyone has any suggestions.

    Thanks.
     
  8. tommyprevatt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    #8
    So, I never got this fixed, but I can now do it.

    I just bought an October 2011 15 inch MacBook Pro, and it works fine when connecting to my TV.

    Thanks.
     

Share This Page