It’s completely going wrong for a new device.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by louiserose646, Dec 30, 2016.

1. louiserose646 macrumors newbie

G’day! How are you doing? It’s a pleasure to be part of this community. I’m a newbie to Macs. Bought my MacBook Pro 15-inch (2015) with integrated GPU (only Iris Pro) model very recently. It’s a great machine. But the only thing that disappoints me completely is the battery life. Like many reviewers & tests have reported I’m also not getting the Apple claimed battery life of 9 hours Screen-On time which as mentioned by them is under the conditions below,

But in my case it’s even more worse based on these tests,

Safari Test :
    Brightness 35%,
    Background apps restricted,
    with 7-11 open tabs on average in which most of them were just idling throughout the full discharge session.
    Screen-On time I got approx. 7 hour 30 mins
    Note: Fair enough which is what the estimate by MacOS(10.12.1) also showed on a full charge.

iTunes video playback test :
    Brightness 35%,
    Background apps restricted,
    Sound 20%
    Screen-On time I got approx. 7 hours 23 mins

*Date of manufacture of the Battery was on Dec 2016
    *FileVault not enabled, WiFi Signal Strong, Bluetooth Off, OS in Stock configuration (No apps installed)

So considering the brightness was too low compared to Apple’s conditions. Can anybody say whether it’s normal or is there anything wrong with my battery unit when Apple promises 9 hours? I’m supposed to get more Screen-On time for testing it in much more low brightness, Am I right?

2. DeltaMac macrumors G3

DeltaMac

Apple, unfortunately, will remind you that they do not "promise 9 hours"
    They only say "up to 9 hours", and tell you that they used certain settings that should result in "up to 9 hours".
    Not quite a promise, more of a suggestion.
    Ah, the joys of semantics used in marketing. :rolleyes: