It takes at least 5 seconds to start another tab in safari...are you kidding me ?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by holydude, Oct 19, 2014.

  1. holydude macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    #1
    Anybody experienced how sluggish it is now to start another tab in safari ? It literally takes SECONDS to start a new tab because it is trying to do that idiotic animation.


    ****ing Johny Ive.

    2013 late mbp here
     
  2. Doga macrumors regular

    Doga

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Location:
    Near Montréal, Canada
    #2
    Pretty well instantaneous on my late 2011 iMac.
     
  3. eutexian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Location:
    Mapperley, Nottingham UK
    #3
    likewise on a mid 2011 mac mini 8gig. instant.
     
  4. bbfc macrumors 68030

    bbfc

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, England.
    #4
    I wouldn't say it takes 5s on my MBP, but it's certainly not instant.
     
  5. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #5
    Just as quick as it was in Chrome. I don't use Safari.
     
  6. oneshotpro Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
  7. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #7
    It takes less than a second for me on a late 2011 MBP. Safari 8 has been a breath of fresh air to me.
     
  8. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #8
    For a giggle I have just tried this on a 2012 rMBP. It's instantaneous. Frankly, I think it's faster than Chrome.
     
  9. ABC5S Suspended

    ABC5S

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Location:
    Florida
    #9
    Fast here as well. Do a PRAM and see if that helps.
     
  10. deviant macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #10
    it's 5 times instant then the 6th it hangs for a couple of seconds, mba 2012. wouldn't have noticed if you didn't tell me lol
     
  11. Drag'nGT macrumors 68000

    Drag'nGT

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
  12. cosminsel macrumors member

    cosminsel

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  13. holydude thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    #13
    Dunno. But must depend on a certain conditions.
     
  14. simon48 macrumors 65816

    simon48

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #14
    I have a 15" late 2013 rMBP. Very smooth here. I don't think I've ever had it hang for anything but internet latency. I've been running Yosemite since PB1.
     
  15. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #15
    What is your new tab set to load when it starts?

    Mine is set to load Top Sites and is pretty instant. If yours is set to load a particular web page then it will need to fetch that page whenever you start a new tab, time to load will depend on your web connection and the web server providing the page.
     
  16. holydude thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    #16
    Top sites :) Not that dumb bro :)
     
  17. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #17
    Hey I just worked with all the quality diagnostic information provided.... :eek:

    ...understand the frustration....

    If you change to a blank page opening does the speed improve? Trying to separate if the issue is opening the tab or related to the content of the tab.....
     
  18. deviant macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #18
    People who don't have it try spamming cmd+t 10 times in a row, you will see it
     
  19. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #19
    I've just tried it 100 times and every one except the 48th (which stuttered for about 1/2 second) was instantaneous (or at least as near instantaneous as I could detect).

    2014 MBP 15" 16GB Ram here
     
  20. deviant macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #20
    I tried on 2007 iMac and 2012 MBA. Who knows what causes it. Maybe Adblock? I'll try later to disable it (the only extension I have) oh and I also have empty page for new pages, so no load on cpu. Strange
     
  21. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #21
    Tabs open up just fine on my 2012 MBP and 2010 iMac. Command+tab and it's open instantly.
     

Share This Page