I've done my research (PC convert), but is there anything I missed?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by PDFierro, Sep 8, 2009.

1. PDFierro macrumors 68040

Hey guys,... I might be new to Mac soon enough, and I'm new to MacRumors. I have used PCs all my life (College-aged, but not in college. Get it?) and have only used Macs in grade school. I didn't know what they were at the time, just thought the interface was unique and cool-looking.

Been wanting to convert for a while now, just never had the money nor time. I just returned a Sony VAIO within my 30-day window. Windows sucks. Why is it I now realize that dropping 1 grand on a Windows PC is a big deal, but dropping it on a Mac isn't? I'm a writer, that's my profession. So that, among other things, is why I'm seriously considering a Mac right now.

To the point,... I feel like I've done my research, but I need reassurance. 2GB of RAM is surely enough with Snow Leopard, right? At least what I've read. Multi-tasking? Would like to watch a movie and do my writing at the same time, and maybe web browse or check my mail or something. But that's a rarity.

And I feel as if I'm missing something. Despite only ever using a Mac in school, I feel like I know the Mac pretty well. Surely I know everything there is to know?

Sorry for long post! Got carried away. Looking at getting the latest white MacBook if I decide to pull the trigger. Main reason for this post is I'm seeing if I need to customize it. As of now, I hate the aluminum look, so that's why I am looking at the white one.

Thanks a bunch.

2. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

thegoldenmackid

You seem all good. Macs tend to handle multi-tasking significantly better then PC'. Remember you can upgrade the ram yourself without voiding the warranty and that will likely be cheaper then through Apple.