Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

sensithreads

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 28, 2010
Unfortunately I have waited as long as I can. I am a student in the uk and I am getting a mac bought for me to support my study. Because it is a 1 year course I really need to make my purchase asap. I only got confirmation on funding a couple weeks ago so I waited til now encase we got an update but I think it would be silly to risk leaving it any longer in case they say it isn't a justifiable expense anymore (I can always exchange for a new one if they come out within 14 days of delivery)

So I'm gonna have to bite the bullet and buy a mpb tomorrow. I want to use it for various things, one of which will be final cut pro. I take it I would be advised to get the 2.8Ghz over the 2.66Ghz, with it's better processor and GT with 500mb over the 256 in the 2.66Ghz model. do you guys think £200 extra seems like a justifiable expenditure for this extra power? Should I get the 7200 hard drive for an extra £40?

Thanking you for your advice in advance.

Cali3350

macrumors regular
Feb 16, 2009
The processor speed difference is absolutely negligible and you shouldn't worry about it at all. The HDD speed difference is quite noticeable and you absolutely should upgrade it.

sensithreads

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 28, 2010
Yes i believe so. the 2.66Ghz has a graphics processor with 256MB of GDDR3 memory, the 2.8Ghz has one with 512MB. This sounds like a big difference..

Chaos123x

macrumors 68000
Jul 8, 2008
Both should work fine. Shoot I ran FCS2 on a Powerbook g4 up untill a day ago.

But the more power the better, is this going to be your main machine for editing? Or do you have Mac Pro desktop too?

If it's your main machine I would get the faster model. They are about the same price on the apple refurb store anyway.