Just attempted to restore firmware on iPhone 5.

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by CyrusKafaiWu, May 6, 2013.

  1. CyrusKafaiWu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    #1
    Hi

    I can no longer have access to my phone. It needs a nano sim and I am still waiting for it to come in. I just bought this phone unlocked from the Apple Store this morning.

    Thanks
     
  2. dictoresno macrumors 601

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #2
    you should be able to restore the phone without a SIM. just be on wifi and it should activate fine.
     
  3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3
    Nope.
    It will not activate without a sim.
     
  4. dictoresno macrumors 601

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #4
    couldve sworn ive restored my old iphone 4 without a SIM in it. but can you bypass activation and still get to the OS.
     
  5. CyrusKafaiWu thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    #5
    IT doesn't let me restore or do anything. It just keeps asking for a simcard.

    I gotta get my regular iPhone 3g simcard switched to nano-sim.
     
  6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    Your old CDMA iPhone 4? Yes.
    Gsm iPhones need a valid sim to activate or else you can't get into the home screen.
     
  7. dictoresno macrumors 601

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #7
    sorry, no it was my old att iphone 4 that i restored before i sold. maybe it had the SIM installed, i forgot.
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    Yep.
    Even if it had he old inactive sim in it would work and activate fine.
     
  9. lordofthereef macrumors G5

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #9
    So, you are getting a sim card, yes? (Not sure, based on what you have already said). If the answer is yes, why not just wait? Restoring doesn't take all that much time. In fact, you've likely spent more time trying to figure out how to restore without a sim card than than it will take to restore once you pop a sim in.
     
  10. Ann P macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #10
    You can ask to borrow a friend's or family member's sim. Takes less than a minute. :)
     
  11. CyrusKafaiWu thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    #11
    Yes borrowing a sim works temporarily. I finally transfered my old phone's sim into this one. Thanks for the effort guys!
     

Share This Page