Just bought a new Airport Extreme base station - couple issues & questions...

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by dmk1974, Oct 3, 2011.

  1. dmk1974 macrumors 68000

    dmk1974

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #1
    My D-Link DIR-655 that I have used for a few years is starting to have some issues disconnecting and dropping WiFi. So last night I went to the local Best Buy and decided to try out the $179 Airport Extreme router (latest model MD031LL/A).

    Seemed pretty easy to set up from my 2011 MacBook Air using that Airport Utility. Definitely a lot less settings and options than the previous router, but seemed to do allright. Excellent connections and speed to our laptops in the house.

    One issue I am having though is that I cannot get either of my 4th gen iPod Touch devices nor our iPhone 4's to work with this router. On each, I even set up new network connections on the devices and got it to see the network, but when I open Safari or anything else for web access (App Store, email, etc.), nothing happens. Is there some special trick I'm missing for these handhelds? Also, when I wake them from sleep or completely reboot them, it takes a really long time for them to see the network (if they do at all). I did not have this issue ever with the DIR-655.

    One other question...I've never used dual-band before. Is there a noticeable difference when connecting to my 2011 MacBook Air to use the 5 GHz band instead of the standard 2.4 GHz band?

    Thanks in advance for your replies!
     
  2. austingndr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    #2
    As far as I know Apple devices such as phone will not connect to 5Ghz network. Don't know if you have tried this yet, but I remember having this same issue with my extreme. It will only see and access the 2.4 network.
     
  3. hafr macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #3
    I have not experienced what you are with the handheld devices not being able to see the network.

    When it comes to 2.4 vs. 5 GHz, they both have their strengths and weaknesses. With 802.11g, the only real difference is that there is more interference on the 2.4 GHz wavelength in a normal home, but it's a lot better at getting through walls and such. With 802.11n, 5 GHz is preferable since you can reach greater speeds.
     
  4. Chic0 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    When it comes to wifi n.....

    Iphone 4 will connect to 802.11n 2.4ghz
    Ipad2 will connect to 802.11n 2.4 or 5ghz
     
  5. HazyCloud macrumors 68030

    HazyCloud

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #5

    Just adding that Apple TV 2 will also connect to a 5ghz network.
     
  6. dmk1974 thread starter macrumors 68000

    dmk1974

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #6
    I'm pretty sure that I had the 5 GHz band disabled at the time when trying to connect the iPod Touch and iPhone, but I'll try again tonight. Just seemed weird that the WiFi would sometimes show, but then no internet.
     
  7. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #7
    What radio mode are you using for your 2.4GHz band? Is it a/b/g/n compatible? N only?

    Also, if you're naming your network the same as before, it could be worthwhile to go into the preferences on the handheld devices and select "forget network." There may be some settings they're retaining that are making it fail.
     
  8. dmk1974 thread starter macrumors 68000

    dmk1974

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #8
    Yes, it is the same name and PW. Tonight I'll make it forget the DIR-655, switch routers, and then try with fresh connection info. Thanks for the suggestion.
     
  9. dmk1974 thread starter macrumors 68000

    dmk1974

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #9
    Well, I also found a 4th gen Airport Extreme MC340LL/A on craigslist tonight for $60.00 so I bought it as well. The 4th gen set up just perfectly and all of my iOS devices connected right away just fine (I only "forgot" the network on my iPhone 4 while the DIR-655 was still connected, but the other 3 iOS devices I left as-is and they were fine).

    I'll test this 4th gen for a few days and if all ok, the 5th gen will go back to Best Buy. I left the 5 GHz band off for the time being. Thanks for all the tips!
     
  10. hafr macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #10
    May I ask why you turned off the 5 GHz band?
     
  11. Chic0 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    For the OP, I also have dual band AEBS. I have it running N only on both 5ghz and 2.4ghz without any problems

    The network name for both bands are the same except the 5ghz band has '5ghz' automatically appended to the end of it. This can be set using Airport Utility
     
  12. hafr macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #12
    The AEBS uses both 2.4 and 5 GHz under the same name as default and the devices that can will switch between the wavelengths depending on which one is the strongest. The only reason you can check the "5 GHz network name" box is if you want to be able to force a device to connect to the 5 GHz band.

    So by unchecking that box, you're not deactivating the 5 GHz band...
     
  13. miles01110, Oct 4, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2011

    miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #13
    "5 GHz" is not a wavelength, it is a frequency.
     
  14. dmk1974 thread starter macrumors 68000

    dmk1974

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #14
    Ok, thanks for clarifying. I guess then that I don't have the 5 GHz turned off, but I just did not go in and check the box for a separate 5 GHz connection under the "Wireless Network Options" section of the Airport Utility. My intent was to keep it similar, at least for a while, to my previous DIR-655.
     
  15. rw3 macrumors 6502a

    rw3

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #15
    Make sure you are using a WPA or WPA2 Network Key and not a WEP. iOS devices seem to disagree with WEP keys and will always have issues connecting.
     
  16. dmk1974 thread starter macrumors 68000

    dmk1974

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #16
    Thanks. Yes, I have it set to WPA2.
     
  17. hafr macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #17
    Correct, and the two frequencies send out information in different wavelengths.
     

Share This Page