just bought macbook c2d, if next macbook comes w/ i3, will i regret buying this one?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by matthew6, Feb 11, 2010.

1. matthew6 macrumors newbie

Hello all,

I just bought my new white uMB with the c2d processor. Currently, everyone is making a big fuss about the MBP's and the i5/i7 chips and how they will be so much better. After thinking about it, I realize that the next update for the uMB will probably be with the new i3 processors, since the MacBook is just their low end notebook. Since the last update was in October 2009, it is same to assume that there wont be another update for a couple more months.

IF the new updated macbook of the near future comes with the i3 processor, will I regret buying this current generation? Basically, would I have noticed any difference of speed in the two processors, if I am a college student and only using my Macbook for internet, facebook, emailing, papers in iwork, etc. No intensive apps.

Thanks for your input and sorry if this has been asked. I searched the forums and I could not find anything.

2. -Ryan- macrumors 68000

If you're thinking about regretting a purchase before you even make the purchase, you will definitely regret it.

3. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

iLog.Genius

You'll probably regret it but in terms of functionality, shouldn't phase you one bit. If you purchased a Core 2 Duo MacBook knowing that there could potentially be an i3/i5/i7 MacBook, MacBook Pro around the corner, obviously the Core 2 Duo meets your computing needs and should do just fine for now and even in the future.

4. kyzen macrumors regular

In the likely event that the i3 comes with an integrated Intel GPU, I'd think that the slight power advantage of the nVidia card, even an older integrated model, will almost negate any CPU boosts in power. Intel's integrated graphics have always been severely disappointing.