Just got my MBP, have a couple of questions...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by iMerlin, Sep 6, 2008.

1. iMerlin macrumors 6502a

iMerlin

Hey all. I know the new MBPs are coming soon, but the current one is just so damned sexy I went ahead and pulled the trigger on it anyway. I picked up the 17" high res model. I am totally new to Macs other than watching almost every tutorial on apple.com. I played with this sucker all night last night and I am very impressed. So easy to set up and use but I do have a couple of things I could do on a PC but cant figure out how to do on my Mac...

1. Create a PDF or JPG from a screen shot or webpage. On my PC I had the page open, do a screen print and then paste that into PowerPoint and save as a JPG. I figured out how to screen print on the Mac and I see it places the captured portion onto the desktop, but what do I do with it from there?

2. Ok, something really simple, how do I check my WiFi connection speed to ensure I truly am connecting at 802.11n and not g. The only reason I ask this is because I have a PS3, and was playing online last night while also using my Mac and my PS3 was really acting flaky and its usually solid. I thought if the MBP was on a totally different band (PS3 uses 802.11g) that it wouldnt interfere with anything else?

3. If I have multiple windows open, I know I can set up Spaces, which is awesome, but for the windows on the same screen, how do I easily switch between them all. I like Expose also, just wondering if thats the only way to do it.

4. I see there is a delete key, however that acts like the PCs backspace key. Is there any key combo that acts like the PCs delete key??
    Is there a Home or end key?

5. How do I simply check what make/model/cpu I have on my MBP? I found the finder info, is that the same as right clicking on My Computer??