JUST jb/unlocked my iphone 4 but can't use Edge to surf the web, help!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by SilentLight, Aug 17, 2010.

  1. SilentLight macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    #1
    Okay, got my iphone 4--activated it, jb, and unlocked. But when I turn off wifi, I can't use T mobile's edge network for full web browsing. I get a message telling me that "Your subscription plan is not compatible with this device. Please click here to view plan options."

    FYI--I did recently sign up for the $9.99 data plan.

    How are others using the plan with their iphone? Thanks in advance for any help
     
  2. powerbuddy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    #2
    The 9.99 plan from T-Mobile is not meant for smartphones. You need to purchase the 24.99 plan for smartphones in order for it work, and then goto the APN settings to enter the details for it to work.

    Or, you could purchase Talk+Text+Web plan, and that should work fine as well. Call up T-mobile and purchase the smartphone plan, and they should also guide you with all the settings you need for the phone. Just let them know you are using an iPhone.

    Here, http://forums.t-mobile.com/t5/Non-T...phone-Internet-to-Work-on-T-mobile/td-p/66349 just thought I will throw this in here as well.
     
  3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3
    False.
    I know 2 people that use the 9.99 plan on Tmobile with iPhones.
    You just need the correct apn entered.
    I believe it was internet2.voicestream.com
     
  4. SilentLight thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    #4
    how do i go about changing this info?
     
  5. powerbuddy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    #5
    Yeah good luck trying that, I did it and it gave me the same error. T-Mo checks the IMEI of the phone and re-directs that APN to ask you to upgrade to a higher plan.
     
  6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    My brother is using that plan for over a year now on his iPhone 3G with no problems or errors. Depending on the region u are located you need to try different apn settings to get it to work. So good luck nothing.
     
  7. powerbuddy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    #7
    You could be right. Let me investigate this issue, if you're right I could save by avoiding to pay extra 15$ to T-Mo every month.
     
  8. Nick0912 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    #8
    I had the same problem with my 3GS and I have talk-txt-web. You have to type in epc.tmobile.com in apn setting under cellular data network I also had to install sbsettings to turn on edge. Hope this helps.
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    Yep, give it a shot. It was giving me the same message about wrong data plan with other apn settings I tried but it end up working at the end. There's a bunch of different ones like wap.Tmobile.com also if I remember correct. It's a ripoff paying them $25 a month for edge data IMO.
     
  10. powerbuddy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    #10
    I will not disagree with you on this one. It is!
     
  11. SilentLight thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    #11
    So far I have tried using the epc.tmobile.com, internet2.voice..., wap..., but still can't get through and get the same "need to upgrade message." I also installed sbsettings, but I have no idea how to launch or access it.

    For those who are using the $9.99 t mobile plan, could you share your settings and what you installed to get it working?
     
  12. Nick0912 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    #12
    After you install sbsettings swipe by the time on the status bar and it will show.
     
  13. SilentLight thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    #13
    thank you!

    Wow...I finally go it to work!!!
    For anyone else struggling with this issue, here is what I did:

    1. Installed SBSettings (search for it on Cydia)
    2. Turn off 3G in the network setting, and leave on data roam
    3. Used http://www.unlockit.co.nz to add a profile with the APN internet2.voicestream.com
    4. Turn off then back on. Turn off wifi and use Safari.

    Thanks for all the replies and contributions. Glad I don't have to pay $25 for Edge service!
     
  14. Nick0912 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    #14
    That's basically what I did also but idk why you had to turn wifi off.
     
  15. SilentLight thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    #15
    i turned off wifi to make sure it was edge that was connecting the browser
     
  16. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    Probably to make sure he's not connected on his wifi.
    Enjoy op:)
     
  17. powerbuddy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    #17
    Can you tether with this 9.99 plan using MiWi or something else? Just called up T-Mo.... taking me off the unlimited ripoff plan when the next billing cycle rolls.
     
  18. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #18
    Yes, it will be slow as hell but mywi will still work with edge.
     
  19. powerbuddy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    #19
    Hey, thanks for the help and heads up Applejuiced. ;)
     
  20. SilentLight thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    #21
    that's good news!

    applejuice, thanks for helping out this newb!
     
  21. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  22. Eric Noa macrumors 6502

    Eric Noa

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #23
    Hey guys,

    I was using the $9.99 plan with my iPhone 3G for over a year with no problems. Now I have an iPhone 4 and I was able to use EDGE with the $9.99 plan for like a day and I was even able to use tethering but then it stopped working... I haven't been able to find anything that works ever since.
     
  23. Eric Noa macrumors 6502

    Eric Noa

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #24
    Right now my EDGE is working with the $9.99 Data plan... it comes and goes when ever in wants to....:mad::mad::mad:
     
  24. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #25
    Maybe try a different APN setting.
    Sometimes Tmobile has issues with their data service and same thing happens to my bros iphone.
     

Share This Page