Just lost 4 months worth of data... Best way to avoid in the future?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by HighlandSpring, Oct 3, 2012.

1. HighlandSpring macrumors newbie

Too bad, I know, and it could have been a lot worse losing two years worth had I not backed some up a few months prior.

This is entirely my fault and I take full responsibility for it. Which is why I’m taking steps to make sure it doesn’t happen again. Thankfully I’m a photography student and there was no paid work in those four months.

I currently have a 128SSD in a MBP, a portable 1TB and an old not-so-trustworthy desktop 1.5 TB. After doing some research into RAID, my thought is that the best way to move forward would be to RAID1 two 2TB drives in a dual bay docking station for all files, partition the 1TB to clone my SSD to the smaller partition, and keep main files (select RAW’s, PSD’s, TIFF’s & JPEG’s) on the other side. Then for some extra protection back up those main critical files to another small external in case anything happens to the 2 RAID’s and first portable.

I’d rather avoid this again so I really appreciate your views and opinions on what you would do in my position. Budget is around £300-£400 as this is more for my career rather than just university.

Thank you

2. stuaz macrumors 6502

Just get an external drive for $100 or something and put Time Machine backups on it? Simples! :)

3. peeaanuut macrumors 65816

thats pretty much it. After the initial back-up, subsequent back-ups will be quite quick unless you dont do it often.

4. Ledgem, Oct 3, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2012

Ledgem macrumors 65816

Ledgem

Backup purists would jump on your bringing up RAID as a backup solution. The purist advocates many stages for backup: RAID can be one, but a completely separate drive (and partition) should be another, followed by off-site backups.

All right, let's be realistic: RAID 1 is a good option. As your needs grow, RAID 5 (or a solution like a Drobo) might be even better.