Just picked up a 2.3GHz QUAD 17" Hi resolution Antiglare MBP!! Geekbench score INSIDE

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jjahshik32, Feb 24, 2011.

  1. jjahshik32 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #1
    Its goregous and FAST!! I just picked it up. No dead/stuck pixels, no backlight bleeding, very vivid colors and looks like all systems are go! :D Will post pic soon.

    I just ran it OMG!!

    [​IMG] These things are REAL desktop replacements! I'm going to have to put my Mac Pro for sale now.
     
  2. zinka macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    #2

    How can you pick it up? Isn't it build-to-order only on the hi-res screens?
     
  3. Adidas Addict macrumors 65816

    Adidas Addict

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #3
    All 17" are the same res, I assume apple stores are carrying some ant-glare models.
     
  4. ghsNick macrumors 68020

    ghsNick

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #4
    My store didn't have them in stock either. Maybe he got lucky.
     
  5. mark28 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #5
    Congrats with that monster :)

    How are the temperatures if you max all 4 cores and how is the battery life?
     
  6. jjahshik32 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #7
    My local Galleria had them in stock. Its a decked out 17", $2799 with the antiglare model with 750GB of HDD space.
     
  7. jjahshik32 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #8
    I havnt installed istat pro yet but will post later.
     
  8. zinka macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    #9
    Sorry, I meant anti-glare. Thought those were CTO only.
     
  9. jjahshik32 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #10
    I find it insane how these things can score higher than my 2.8GHz QUAD Mac Pro!
     
  10. vhp3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #11
    Just picked up my i7 2.3 matte with a biz discount. They had them in stock as well!
     
  11. bcaslis macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #12
    Anyone know if the stores are carrying a 15" configuration with the 1680x1050 screen resolution?
     
  12. Tailpike1153 macrumors 6502a

    Tailpike1153

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
  13. Whitelightning macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    #14
    Is the box of the anti-glare with a black bezel? Reason why im asking is I just saw at the apple store that the anti-glare 15 incher was apparently pictured on the box with a black bezel display. Someone please confirm.
     
  14. ChronoIMG macrumors regular

    ChronoIMG

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #15
    Sick. Really looking forward to my BTO 15" now........ come on, build it and ship it, gogogogogogoogogogoo!one1!!!

    My current 15" MBP clocks in at just over a whopping 3000 geekbench score... Not sure I can handle the 3X speed increase.
     
  15. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #16
    You can confirm yourself. Just go here: http://www.apple.com/macbookpro/specs.html
    ScreenCap 8.PNG ScreenCap 7.PNG

    Also, this was already answered in the other thread you posted on this question.
     
  16. ChronoIMG macrumors regular

    ChronoIMG

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
  17. Whitelightning macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    #18
    I was just at the apple store, and the guy showed me the box containing an "anti-glare macbook" that clearly said "anti-glare" screen in spec and "AG" on it BUT it had a picture of the macbook pictured with a black bezel, which is what confused me. Unless Apple actually screwed up on the packaging.
     
  18. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #19
    They don't make a separate box picture just for anti-glare.
     
  19. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #20
    Synthetic benchmark. :rolleyes:

    The machine is NOT faster than a Mac Pro. Both machines have processors based on the Nehalem architecture and hence perform pretty equal clock per clock. Given that 2.8GHz is considerably higher than 2.3GHz, the Mac Pro is undoubtedly faster.

    Seriously, don't rely on those benchmarks. Geekbench has never been a reliable benchmark for processing power. Especially with the re-introduction of HT, the results got really messed up!
     
  20. prism macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    #21
    I find it insane that you have to fork out close to 3 grand for it, LOL.
     
  21. mark28 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #22
    Sandy Bridge will come to the Mac Pro's later. Intel will introduce 8-core Sandy Bridge i7 CPU's, I wonder what a 2 x 8-core Sandy Bridge i7 will be like, should be atleast 50.000 in geekbench :)

    I think the geekscores are in line with their performance. The Arrendale MBP scores around 5000-6000 with only 2-cores, which makes sense as they have half the power.
     
  22. beefcoder macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you.
    #23
    @ jjahshik32


    What about heat? Fan noise? Strange "features"? :)
     
  23. darkeartg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
  24. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #25
    You didn't really understand my post, did you? :rolleyes:
    No offense, I'm just trying to understand how that relates to my post.

    Edit: Your edit should have come a little ealier. ;) But still, GB is not reliable and doesn't reflect real world performance. Just take a look at the 2008 2.8GHz octad Pro vs. 2009 2.26GHz octad Pro. Although the 2009 machine shows 50% more performance in GB, real world advantage is -10 to +20%.
     

Share This Page