iPhone just purchased iphone5 verizon 64gb was 6.0.2 can i jailbreak?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by jateshk, Apr 22, 2013.

  1. jateshk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    #1
    jailbreakmatrix saying i cant jailbreak on 6.0.2. I thought as long as im not running 6.1.3 i can.

    So can i jailbreak or not?
     
  2. iALLOUT4eva macrumors regular

    iALLOUT4eva

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Location:
    PlayDay Land
    #2
    Jailbreak it with evasi0n http://evasi0n.com/ #
     
  3. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #3
    You can jailbreak on 6.0.2 using evasi0n
     
  4. cyber16 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    #4
    Indeed and you also have a nice GSM factory unlocked iPhone 5 there ;)
     
  5. jateshk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    #5
    Just jailbroke. Its perfect now!


    Wait so Verizon is unlocked?
     
  6. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #6
    Yes they are
     
  7. bradl macrumors 68040

    bradl

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #7
    Ummm... Factory unlocked? I would say not.

    You would need to be in good standing with VZW for them to unlock the GSM side of the phone, and even then it couldn't be used with GSM carriers within the US.

    So you still would have a crippled phone, despite if you fulfill your contract with VZW and want to take that phone elsewhere.

    BL.
     
  8. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #8
    They are factory unlocked. Unless I have been reading a lot of bad info.
     
  9. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #9
    All Verizon iPhone 5's are unlocked. You would just need to restore it in iTunes.

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/09/23/verizon-iphone-5-unlocked_n_1906034.html
     
  10. cyber16 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    #10
    Some folks need to read and understand things b4 they post. :rolleyes:
    YES, all Verizon iPhone 5 are factory GSM SIM unlocked.
    That is the way they came as part of an agreement with the fcc.
    Unlike the Sprint 4S that when it first came out, GSM factory unlocked, then shortly after they sent locking code to the phones on their network.
     
  11. bradl macrumors 68040

    bradl

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #11
    The big difference here is Unlocked, vs. Factory unlocked. My understanding, and it has been posted in this forum as well, is that the GSM side is only unlocked, but it takes the carrier to unlock that side for it, as long as you meet the requisites for it to be unlocked. But as far as being Factory unlocked, I'm not too sure on, because otherwise you wouldn't need to get the carrier involved to do so.

    BL.
     
  12. cyber16 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    #12
    the GSM sim slot/GSM RADIOS are factory unlocked.
    In other words, purchase a Verizon iphone 5 to be used with ANY GSM provider worldwide and never worry about it being locked by itunes or other.

    It was NEVER locked at the factory = factory unlocked, Verizon cannot lock them as part of the FCC agreement.
     
  13. jateshk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    #13
    can i put in a att sim in my phone?
     
  14. cyber16 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
  15. bradl macrumors 68040

    bradl

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #15
    I stand corrected. They do come factory unlocked. I read also on this site that a call to VZW had to be made so that they could activate that side of the phone, but I'm still looking for that article. It may have been for the 4S, and not the 5.

    Either way, you could drop an ATT sim in it, and get 4G, but not LTE (different bands).

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1449522&highlight=iphone+5+verizon+gsm

    BL.
     
  16. guitarmandp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    #16
    Your kind of screwed because you are on 6.0.2 and not 6.1.X which added lots of new features
     
  17. apollo1444 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Location:
    mexico
    #17
    nice for europe use...

    as the americas use at&t gsm version for LTE
     
  18. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #18
    not necessarily, although I do admit 6.1.x did have a bunch of bug fixes. For me, it was most notably the disconnection from wifi issue (but it wasn't so bad that I was ready to throw my phone across the room). iOS 6.1.x didn't add any new features, it was all bug fixes
     

Share This Page