Just unlocked a 2G, put in my SIM card and no service...

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by awadeee, May 2, 2011.

  1. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #1
    So I just followed iClarified's guide that I found on another thread. I performed all of the steps the same (except I didn't install Cydia). I unlocked the phone using the bootloader or whatever and now I don't have service when I put my Telus SIM card in.
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    Restore and redo the jb and unlock again.
    Make sure you select unlock on the redsnow options.
     
  3. MaxBurn macrumors 65816

    MaxBurn

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #3
    Does the unlock rely on ultrasn0w? Think you need cydia to get that.
     
  4. awadeee thread starter macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #4
  5. awadeee thread starter macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #5
    Jesus, I can't even get into Cydia. It just gets stuck on the "loading" screen. Any input would be mucho appreciato considering this is my newest of many iPhones but it's my first iPhone 2G. I purchased it hoping to unlock it and use it when I'm in the states so that I'm not tempted to use 3G and get bent over the table by my carrier.
     
  6. Steve99 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    #6
    The phone probably is unlocked. The real problem is that Telus doesn't offer any 2G GSM service. They have CDMA and HSPA - you need an iphone 3G or newer to use it with Telus.
     
  7. awadeee thread starter macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #7
    Awh shucks, I didn't even know that. I thought that might be it but I was sure they offered it. Oh well, eBay here I come.
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    That would explain it.
    And no ultrasnow for the 2G iPhone.
    Bootneuter.
     
  9. awadeee thread starter macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #9
    Knowledge is power I guess! I learned something very valuable today. I think I'll be throwing this on Kijiji (Canadian Craigslist) or eBay sometime in the near future.
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    I hear you, me too.
    I thought 2G/Edge was available everywhere.:D
     
  11. Steve99 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    #11
    In Canada there were several providers in the analog days. One cross Canada network went to TDMA and then GSM, the other ones went to CDMA. The two big CDMA providers then decided to share networks with to form the largest cross Canada network. They had both hoped to go directly from CDMA to LTE (like Verizon) but they realized they were losing too much business to wait so they went to a shared HSPA network. The good part is they have such great coverage that there is no need for 2G/edge fallback and they still be transitioning to LTE in the future.
     

Share This Page