LCD Monitor vs LCD TV: What buy?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by mamcx, Jun 29, 2009.

1. mamcx macrumors regular

Ok,

I plan to buy a larger LCD (first time, my actual monitor is only 22") and wonder what could be a smart investment.

I'm a developer, and barely play games but I see almost all the movies in my computer. I have a macbook white previous gen and maybe I will buy a brand new mac mini.

So, I check the prices & specs of some Dell 24"> monitors and some Sony Bra TV LCD 24"> monitors and found that a LCD 30" cost almost the same than a Dell 24" monitor.

So, I wonder why?

Any reason to chosee one or the other?

2. fpar macrumors regular

If you intend to do more text based work on the TV then video then I would go with the monitor because of the higher pixel density, the 30" LCD will not provide as sharp a picture as a 24"monitor, this will be most apparent when reading.

3. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

Shake 'n' Bake

I used my 26'' TV for awhile before I got my 22'' Dell monitor. With the TV at 1366x768 and the Dell at 1680x1050, there is a HUGE difference. Get a monitor and then a smaller, say 26'', TV.

4. Unprocessed1 macrumors 65816

Unprocessed1

A TV will have lower resolution, but still high resolution. A tv is good if you need the hdmi ports and utility as a television (will also be cheaper too). I personally dont like very high resolutions because text is extremely small. Sometimes size is more important than crispness/sharpness. It's all about you r own personal preferences.

5. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

SnowLeopard2008

TVs usually have less PPI because people look at it from a long distance. Monitors have a high PPI because people look at it from a short distance. I'd choose a monitor. Don't mix two things into one.

6. Demosthenes X macrumors 68000

Demosthenes X