Livid

Macaroooon

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 9, 2012
I've ordered my iPhone 5, (due to arrive in October) and I'm studying in Bangor, North Wales.

Apparently NO networks will support the phone until January, or something. As in my phone won't receive any signal :(

My friend went round to all the phone shops and apparently they all said the same thing.

Mine is unlocked and I was going to go with Three, as I checked their coverage, but my friend says it wont work.

MrGimper

macrumors 603
Sep 22, 2012
Andover, UK
Are you talking about 4G data speeds or basic voice signal?

Would find it hard to believe you couldn't get voice.

Aug 5, 2012
Wow... What a silly thing to be so upset about

Just cancel your order and chill out

Macaroooon

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 9, 2012
When I asked my friend (I am going to go and ask in the shop to confirm) they said you won't get any signal at all. I don't mean 4G, I mean normal phone signal + 3G.

sammich

macrumors 601
Sep 26, 2006
Sarcasmville.
I find this hard to believe. You're studying there, so presumably it's not a barren wasteland and some telco and the government has made sure every tax payer has access to basic mobile phone reception (within reasonable means, of course).

MrGimper

macrumors 603
Sep 22, 2012
Andover, UK
I find this hard to believe. You're studying there, so presumably it's not a barren wasteland and some telco and the government has made sure every tax payer has access to basic mobile phone reception (within reasonable means, of course).
TBF, it is Wales

Mercenary

macrumors 65816
Sep 17, 2012
Rubbish, all the major networks have coverage in Wales.

There probably referring to 4G/LTE which isnt coming along until later this year from EE (only Welsh city initially will be Cardiff) and more coming all the time. Other networks will be along from 2013.

Not a big issue though as you will still get 3G speeds far superior to your 4 or 4S.

Go with 3, they have coverage, it will work.