"Locked Out" of my brand new iMac!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by iMJustAGuy, Feb 11, 2010.

1. iMJustAGuy macrumors 68020

iMJustAGuy

I just got an iMac and I wanted my display name to be the same as "My name" so I right clicked on My Account under the Accounts section and just took the name out so it was nothing. Now I try to click the lock to make changes and my name is not in the login box by default now and when I type my name in and my password it doesn't accept it. None of this happened until I took the name out of advanced on my user account... I am brand new to OS X and very confused... Thanks in advance.

2. JoeG4 macrumors 68030

JoeG4

That's kinda tricky. I'm surprised that OS X allowed that to happen! You will probably need to try booting off the startup disk and going into the password utility in the utilities menu. Good luck!

3. rorschach macrumors 68020

rorschach

You can use this to create a new admin account:

Code:
    1. Shut down the computer if it is on.
    2. Press the power button to start the computer.
    3. Immediately press and hold the Command (Apple)
    and the S keys until you see white text appear.

At the prompt, type fsck -yf and press the return key.
    Type [b]mount -uw /[/b] and press the return key.
    Type [b]rm /var/db/.AppleSetupDone[/b] and press return.
    Type [b]reboot[/b]
    That will prompt you to create a new account as it did when you first got the computer, and then you can copy your stuff over to the new account.

4. calderone macrumors 68040

calderone

It is hidden, requires admin privileges, and requires one to right click to reveal it. And it is labeled "Advanced Options."

And when you go into it, there is a big WARNING, letting you know that you could prevent the user from logging in (and authenticating) if you make changes without knowing what you are doing.

If you ignore all that, yeah I am surprised OS X let that happen.