Longshot, but it is it possible to get Finder to be more verbose

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by foidulus, Sep 8, 2009.

  1. foidulus macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    #1
    We are running into an intermittent problem with Finder copying from an AFP share where I work, occasionally Finder will say that the user doesn't have sufficient privileges for the file, even though a command line cp works just fine. I have no idea why Finder is choking on it and it doesn't give me any sort of console logs to tell me either. Is it remotely possible to run Finder in any sort of verbose mode where it will actually give me more info about what is going on?:confused:
     
  2. Krevnik macrumors 68040

    Krevnik

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    #2
    Not really...

    I'd check what type of AFP server this is, as it might have the logs you want. Also, if there are issues where the server blocks access to certain types of files, and lives on a non-Mac system, then you could run into issues where files with resource forks won't copy off the system (because you have access to the data fork, but not the resource fork).
     
  3. foidulus thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    #3
    Nothing here lives on a non-mac system(even our NFS is mac) and the issue occurs even when copying to the local hard drive of the mac.

    I don't think its a resource fork issue since even the lowly cp command(which works) copies the resource forks.

    I think the culprit is spotlight, but don't have enough evidence to back up my hunch yet.
     
  4. Edot macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Location:
    NJ
    #4
    Have you tried opening the Console application? There should be a section where the Finder logs errors, etc. (of course there is a log file on disk somewhere too, but this application makes it easier to view all of your application logs in one place). I would start here. I'm not on a Mac currently, or I would give you a more specific location to check inside the Console app (maybe system.log?). I can't remember off the top of my head.

    Hope this helps.

    EDIT: Sorry, just noticed you already checked here.
     
  5. FoxyKaye macrumors 68000

    FoxyKaye

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, Terre d'Ange, Bas Lag, Gallifrey
    #5
    I've run in to this before copying from Linux to Mac, but not Mac to Mac.

    Just out of curiosity, are your workstations running with "Standard" or "Admin" accounts?
     
  6. foidulus thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    #6
    They are all standard Open Directory accounts. however, they are still all 10.5.7, *supposedly* Apple fixed a myriad of AFP issues in 10.5.8, but I haven't had time to test it and we our updates schedules won't allow us to roll out 10.5.8 until the middle of the month. For the time being rebooting seems to fix the issue, which gives further credence to my theory that its some sort of spooky AFP locking mechanism(I think Spotlight is holding on to the locks) that is preventing the files from being copied.
     

Share This Page