Looking for A MS Word plug in to draw diagrams for a maths teacher

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by JackHobbs, Jun 8, 2010.

1. JackHobbs macrumors regular

JackHobbs

I am a maths teacher and recent mac convert :))). I need to draw diagrams for maths worksheets. Basic diagrams are O.K. in MS Word, Mac and Windows, but sometimes I need to draw more complicated ones such as cubes or graphs or equilateral triangles. Previously I used a Word Plug in, FXDraw, but that is Windows only. Does anyone know of a plug in for Mac Word that I could use? I do not need an amazingly complicated package like Maple or Mathematica as I am drawing maths diagrams for school kids! (I'm also the one paying for it!)

Thanks a lot.

2. LAS.mac macrumors 6502

I'm not 100% sure I understood your use, and why you want a Word plugin. However, if what you need is a drawing diagrams such as work flows and similar, I'd take a look to Omni Graffle. It's not a plugin, it is a standalone application. It cost less than 100 bucks and I recall it having an academic discount. There is also a sort of light version, Omni Graph Scketcher.
    Or, if what you want is a drawing application, you could take a look to the free NeoOffice for mac, that together with a worksheet, text editor and others, has a simple but yet complete application.

3. OlegShv macrumors newbie

I am not aware of any plug-ins for MS Word.

For plotting equations you may try using Grapher. It should be in Applications/Utilities.

4. JackHobbs thread starter macrumors regular

JackHobbs