Looking to extend the range of my AirPort Extreme. Add an original AirPort?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by ilko, Jul 17, 2010.

  1. ilko macrumors member

    ilko

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Location:
    The Highest Point on Manhattan
    #1
    My new apartment is bigger than the old one and the AirPort Extreme I've had for the last few years doesn't quite have the range to cover every room. I'm thinking of adding an original Graphite AirPort as a bridge, just to extend the range. It's cheap (under $20 on Ebay). It will be used only for internet access, no data transfer between computers. The AirPort Extreme is the original version from 2003, and I'm thinking of adding a Graphite AirPort. Is that doable?

    Also I've found out that the Graphite AirPort can only be configured with a PPC not an intel machince. My wife has a Dual G5 that's on the network, will that do the trick if it has OS 10.5?

    I'm open to other suggestions as well, such as extending the range of the Extreme via an external antenna, etc. My main priority is cost.

    Thanks so much!
     
  2. ilko thread starter macrumors member

    ilko

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Location:
    The Highest Point on Manhattan
  3. lewis82 macrumors 68000

    lewis82

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    Totalitarian Republic of Northlandia
    #3
    I know it can be done with an Airport Express, but I have no clue about the graphite. Is it 802.11b or g?
     
  4. ilko thread starter macrumors member

    ilko

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Location:
    The Highest Point on Manhattan
  5. ilko thread starter macrumors member

    ilko

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Location:
    The Highest Point on Manhattan

Share This Page