Looking to uprade Ram in Macbook Aluminum 13" (Late 2008)

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by snarestud940, Feb 6, 2012.

1. snarestud940 macrumors 6502

Hey Guys,

I have a macbook that was the first aluminum macbook made. I have 2 GB of ram and would like to upgrade it. I don't know anything about it. How much can I upgrade to? Is it safe to put another memory in that isn't apple's? and when I do it, and click onthe apple icon and go to about this mac, will it still say 2 GB? or will it change and recognize it on its own? or do I have to change it?

Sorry for all the questions. I'm new to all this upgrading stuff. Thanks in advance everyone!

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

You can find specs on all Apple products, including maximum RAM:
    • By visiting EveryMac.com: Actual Maximum RAM
    • By using Mactracker
    • By entering your serial number here to find specs for your model. (Be aware that some models can use more RAM than Apple shows. Check EveryMac or MacTracker to verify.)
    Apple doesn't make RAM, so any compatible RAM you add will be fine.
    When you boot up with the new RAM installed, your Mac will recognize it. There's nothing more you need to do.

3. Montymitch macrumors regular

Montymitch

I have that same machine running 8gb ram no problems. It should be noted that I am running Lion, and I seem to recall Leopard only supporting 4gb.

4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

LOL. Not true. Leopard, SL and Lion can currently support up to 64GB, mostly due to current hardware limitations.

5. simsaladimbamba

Even Tiger could at least support 8 GB RAM on a PowerMac G5.

6. snarestud940 thread starter macrumors 6502

thanks guys. I was thinking to go up to 8 GB. Is this possible? and will I notice a difference? New to this. Sorry.

7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios