Loss of cellular, your opinion on genius bar handling

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by danox574, Apr 4, 2017.

1. danox574 macrumors member

Hi,

I have a iPhone 7 Plus. I have owned every iPhone since the beginning and still have my AT&T grandfathered unlimited data plan, so I've been using the carrier for many years without much of a problem.

Since I got my iPhone 7, things have changed. I have periods of time (3-5 minutes) where all cellular communication fails to work. Wifi still works during this time, and the phone is operating. I can be standing in an area with my wife running my old 6s with no problems, and areas where I know I have cellular signal regularly. During this, if I am not on WiFi, all apps stop talking to the network. Everything spins endlessly when I try to access or refresh data in Mail, load a page in Safari, do a search in eBay, whatever. PayPal app reports no connectivity.

I can reboot, or I can set down my phone and wait 5 minutes or so. If I stay on it, the cellular dead situation persists for around 5 minutes and sometimes comes back. Sometimes I just reboot and don't wait that long, so I can't say if it would eventually come back every time.

First trip to the Apple store, an appointment, I received a clean bill of health from diagnostics that they ran. I received a suggestion to reload, update carrier settings, and dump my 3 party case because it could interfere (clear silicone $10 cheap case, I doubt it has metal in it). I complied including going without a case. The problems were not solved. At that appointment, I was told if I brought it back, a swap would be required.