Loss of keyboard connection and not a clue! (not a Noob either)

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Tengu, Dec 10, 2013.

  1. Tengu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    OK, here it goes...

    I have a 2007 Mac Pro (2 x 3 GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon, 4 GB 667 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM, 500GB HD) running OS X 10.6.8, with zero hardware issues this entire time.

    With it, I have the A1016 wireless keyboard. Never had issues with it either. Yes, some slight, temporary loss of signal here and there over the past 7 years, but nothing that lasted more than a few seconds, and extremely rare.

    Yesterday the keyboard loses connection. Seemingly, no big deal.

    - OK, I wave it closer to the tower...nothing.
    - I turn it off then back on...nothing.
    - Batteries were at 47%, but I put some fresh ones in anyway...nothing.
    - I restart the computer...nothing.
    - I shut off the computer, let it rest a while, turn it back on...nothing.
    - I check the Bluetooth preferences. Keyboard is paired, but not connected. No clue why it won't connect.
    - I check the keyboard. The green light turns on for a sec then starts blinking as if it is discoverable. After many attempts, it still won't connect.
    - I clean the battery port and the keys of the keyboard, just in case. No improvement.
    - I remove the device from the Bluetooth pairing and attempt to re-pair.
    - All I get is a gray spinning pinwheel that won't find the keyboard.
    - I go to Bluetooth Setup Assistant.
    - 1 device found: Apple Wireless Keyboard...GREAT!... I click Continue
    - "Attempting to pair with Apple Wireless Keyboard"
    - Passkey comes up 0000... gray spinning pinwheel...and times out without giving me a space to type it. says "The pairing attempt was unsuccessful"
    - I click Passcode Options and select "Automatically generate a passcode...OK...Continue
    - The 8 digit passcode appears...gray spinning pinwheel...and times out without giving me a space to type it. says "The pairing attempt was unsuccessful"
    - I even tried typing the passcode while the pinwheel was spinning.
    - I repeat every option about 50 times. Still nothing.

    I have researched EVERY internet forum and have not found anyone with this same issue, nor anywhere near a solution. Apple care is long gone and I'm not paying them $20 to answer my question while sitting on a custom $7,000 Mac Pro and another $2,000 in iProducts. I'm at a loss at this point. If I knew what the issue was, I'd be able to determine if my computer is at fault or my keyboard is at fault. I know my gear is relatively old, but I'm not going to buy new tech if I don't have to. Plus, I'm pretty broke at the moment, so buying new tech would be painful.

    I'm a freelance designer and editor with deadlines and limited options until my next paycheck. I'm wirelessly using my iPad as a keyboard for my Mac Pro at the moment, but it's FAR from ideal and is slowing me down.

    I would GREATLY appreciate any information and kind advice from anyone who happens to know how to fix this issue.

    Thank you in advance!!!
     
  2. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #2
    Any other Macs or PCs with BT around that you can try to use the keyboard with? If the keyboard works with a different machine - it may not be the keyboard that's at fault.
     
  3. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
  4. Tengu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Location:
    New York
    #4
    Gee,Fishrrman... thanks for the great wisdom that wasn't completely obvious. :rolleyes:

    As I stated in my post already, I don't want to throw money at the problem, unless it's a last resort.

    fhall1... thank you for the advice, I'll give that a shot at my buddy's place on his iMac.
     
  5. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #5
    Could be something corrupt in OSX. As a last resort you could reinstall and restore from a TM backup.
     

Share This Page