LTE Problem?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by apple111115, Feb 8, 2013.

1. apple111115 macrumors regular

Okay, here is the issue. I have been using AT&T LTE in a few areas for a few months now, and my iPhone 5 now seems to be having problems connecting. Sometimes it connects where it used to, other times it doesn't.

Interestingly enough, if I go into settings and turn LTE off and back on, it connects to LTE (but it might move back to HSPA+ later).

All in all, it is a very confusing situation, but to summarize, LTE does not seem to be working as well as it used to.

Any suggestion?

2. barkomatic macrumors 68040

I think what is happening may be that more and more people are getting LTE devices and the network is under strain at certain times in certain places. My first AT&t LTE device was my iPad 3, and I got 50Mb/s down regularly. Now with my iPhone 5, my max is 22MB/s and at lunchtime and rush hour on a workday data is unusable even though I'm on LTE.

3. dictoresno macrumors 601

dictoresno

thats exactly what my problem was. the map says i had LTE coverage, but only 2 bars. it would switch back to 4G in a few minutes. i ended up leaving at&t because of it.

4. apple111115 thread starter macrumors regular

A bit of an update. I finally got some LTE closer to me, and here is the issue. Once my phone leaves my Wi-Fi network, it will normally go to varying bars of LTE. My phone seems to stay on LTE all throughout town, except for when I check my data (go into the phone dialer and dial a number), it then switches to "AT&T 4G." I believe it is doing this as AT&T does not support calling over LTE, but the problem is that it DOESN'T switch back to LTE when I am done using the dialer. I have to go into settings, turn LTE off and on, then it stays on the network.......

Thanks for any help! :)

5. apollo1444 macrumors 65816

when you say "using the dialer" you mean looking around the phone app? or actually placing calls?