M4B file not showing up in IPod

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Jokerfwb, Apr 23, 2012.

  1. Jokerfwb macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    #1
    I have ran into this problem a few times and was wondering what i can do to fix it or get around it. When i put an .M4b file on my iPhone 4 I usually don't have a problem, but if the file is rather long, the phone won't show it in the IPod. I know it has to do with the length of the file. The two I'm running it to the problem with now are 96.2 MB and 5:59:58 long, the other file is 105 MB and 6:34:31 long. Is there away around this?
     
  2. wytwolf macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    #2
    It's not the length. I've had them as long as 12hrs, but I've heard that people have issues once the audiobook is over 10 hrs so I usually keep them at 10 or less. It must be how it's encoded or something...
     
  3. Jokerfwb thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    #3
    I don't know about the encoding. The file stated as an MP3. I used MP3 audiobook converter, I have used it in numerous files with no problem. I guess maybe the encoder could possibly only be able to deal with a certain length file
     
  4. Jokerfwb thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    #4
    The file works fine on my droid x with akimbo app. Which is an app for playing m4b files
     
  5. wytwolf macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    #5
    Not sure... but i know the length is not the issue. It has to be the mp3 file or the issue happens in the transcoding to m4b. The only issue I used to have when before I started using audiobook builder was once or twice i forgot to changed the file name from .m4a to .m4b which caused the books not to show up in the audiobook section....
     
  6. Jokerfwb thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
  7. Jokerfwb thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    #7
    I downloaded the Audiobook Builder program and it worked. I guess my converter can't handle files over a certain length
     

Share This Page