Mac Mini Snow on monitor after wake-up

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by macmyworld, Nov 23, 2010.

  1. macmyworld macrumors regular

    macmyworld

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #1
    Our one year old Mac Mini has started to show snow on the monitor when it is woken up. Looks like the problem started with a recent Apple Snow Leopard update (we think, not confirmed).

    Monitor is connected via DVI adapter (HP 2009M).

    Only way to fix it is to power cycle the monitor.

    Ideas?
     
  2. gogel-geek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Location:
    Edison, NJ USA
    #2
    Same problem here.
    I have a new Aluminum 2010 mac mini that is attached to a Samsung SyncMaster T220. I also noticed the problem of snow on the screen on wake-up after doing the Snow leopard update. In my case the monitor has a "source" button to switch between DVI and VGA. If I toggle the source button it returns to normal, no need to cycle the power.
    The monitors VGA input is not being used, and the Mac mini is attached to DVI using the supplied HDMI to DVI adapter.
    Anyone with suggestions or are we at the mercy of Apple.
    HELLO APPLE...Please fix this!
     
  3. MacMini2009 macrumors 68000

    MacMini2009

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Happens to me too on my Samsung PX2370. Turning it off then on fixes it for me.
     
  4. MunnyGuy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #4
    Same here attached by DVI to HDMI with my Samsung 55". Has only happened the one time.
     
  5. Kebabselector macrumors 68030

    Kebabselector

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #5
    Seen it happen a few times on my Mini (current model) it's connected via HDMI to a DVI connection. It looks like an old TV when you pull out the RF cable.

    Not a big issue, just the normal occasional sluggishness of a wake up.
     
  6. Gnomecircle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Montreal
    #6
    Have you guys had a fix for this?

    Just got my Mac Pro, and almost cried when I saw that "old snow" on the screen. It is fixed if I turn the monitor off and on, but this can't be normal.
     
  7. fa8362 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #7
    Nice to know I should avoid the 10.6.6 update. I'm using 10.6.4 with no problems.
     
  8. macmyworld thread starter macrumors regular

    macmyworld

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #8
    Never found a fix. Appears to be 10.6.5 and later related.
     
  9. Gnomecircle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Montreal
    #9
    Thanks.

    Funny ever since I posted, it hasn't happened. :rolleyes:

    Hopefully, 10.6.8?? Will fix it.

    Cheers.
     
  10. ADent macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #10
    It is probably an HDCP problem.

    HDCP means the data from the computer to the monitor is encrypted. The monitor and computer get out of sync for some reason and the monitor doesn't properly decrypt the stream.
     
  11. bjornrobertsson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    #11
    Same issue on Macmini3,1

    I've a Macmini3,1 and two SAMSUNG SyncMaster 2443. They will often display snow when I return to the workstation, usually just one or the other - but can affect both. It's sufficient to toggle display or turn off and on again.
    Power Save is set to turn off the display after 1 hour, this may happen after just 5 minutes.

    Snow Leopard 10.6.5

    ---
    Björn
     
  12. xgman macrumors 601

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #12
    Still happens fairly frequently on my 30" 3007WFP dvi connected to a 2010 6 core mac pro running 64bit snow lep latest build but also happens on Lion DP3. Even after swapping out a different ATI 5870 card from Apple. I wonder if a display-port connected monitor would get better results?
     
  13. trauncher macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #13
    Snow again

    This is happening to me too...

    my Config:
    Model Name: Mac Pro
    Model Identifier: MacPro5,1
    Processor Name: 6-Core Intel Xeon
    Processor Speed: 3.33 GHz
    Number of Processors: 1
    Total Number of Cores: 6
    L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
    L3 Cache: 12 MB
    Memory: 24 GB
    Processor Interconnect Speed: 6.4 GT/s
    Boot ROM Version: MP51.007F.B03
    SMC Version (system): 1.39f11
    SMC Version (processor tray): 1.39f11

    Video card #1:
    ATI Radeon HD 5770:

    Chipset Model: ATI Radeon HD 5770
    Type: GPU
    Bus: PCIe
    Slot: Slot-1
    PCIe Lane Width: x16
    VRAM (Total): 1024 MB
    Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
    Device ID: 0x68b8
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    ROM Revision: 113-C0160C-155
    EFI Driver Version: 01.00.436
    Displays:
    HP LP3065:
    Resolution: 2560 x 1600
    Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
    Display Serial Number: CNN7192BD1
    Main Display: Yes
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Rotation: Supported


    Video Card #2
    ATI Radeon HD 5770:

    Chipset Model: ATI Radeon HD 5770
    Type: GPU
    Bus: PCIe
    Slot: Slot-2
    PCIe Lane Width: x16
    VRAM (Total): 1024 MB
    Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
    Device ID: 0x68b8
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    ROM Revision: 113-C0160C-155
    EFI Driver Version: 01.00.436
    Displays:
    HP LP3065:
    Resolution: 2560 x 1600
    Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
    Display Serial Number: CNN7192CBN
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Rotation: Supported
    HP LP3065:
    Resolution: 2560 x 1600
    Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
    Display Serial Number: CNN7192BSW
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Rotation: Supported

    I'm running three 30" monitors... and the weird thing is it only happens on one monitor at a time, and the specific monitor seems to be random. sometimes its the card in slot 1, and other times is on the card in slot 2.

    All three monitors are connected via the Dual DVI connectors.. (the 5770 in slot two is configured with dual DVI and one mini port.)

    any brainiacs see a clue in this config?

    the problem happens when waking up from sleep mode.
     
  14. aarond12 macrumors 65816

    aarond12

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas, TX USA
    #14
    This happened on my ACER monitor on my Hackintosh too. Pressing the INPUT button (so it would cycle through the inputs and eventually land back on DVI) worked every time.
     

Share This Page